Ways to Speak More Naturally !

in #english4 years ago (edited)

rush-348481_1280.jpg

I keep fiding more and more useful information in my previous English club to share here in hive.

In this post I would like to write about five ways to speak more naturally ! This information was shared 7 years ago by me from a great Russia website to learn English. It's still there, you can find it here : Five Ways to Speak More Naturally.

So, I will learn again all this and add my examples. I always use those way to write and speak more naturally. That's why a lot of native English speakers like my language. So, by using that you may get a positive feedback as well.

1. Using ''get'' :


The word ''get'' is very common in the English language. Native speakers use it a lot.

Here are the examples given in the website :

English Learner: What time did you arrive?
Native Speaker: What time did you get there?


English Learner: I became angry when the train was late.
Native Speaker: I got angry when the train was late.

I would say get used to the word ''get''. Or get use to get. lol

2. Use "used to" :


I use ''use to'' a lot. Using ''use to'' is easy. That's why I use to use the English language in my videos and posts. ☺

Here are the examples given in the website :

English Learner: I smoked a lot, but now, no.
Native Speaker: I used to smoke a lot.

I'm used to find the expression ''use to'' in two forms.

The meaning of "in the past, but not now" and the meaning of "familiar with".

Just like in the following examples :

Example 1: I used to be a policeman.
Example 2: I am used to eating spicy food.

My examples :

  • I used to be a vlogger.
  • I'm used to going out. ( I'm healthy, I don't need quarantine.) lol

3. Using "managed to" :


I maneged to grow my reputation in this blockchain. I don't usually use this expression, but I will try to explain it.

So, ''managed to" is to handle something or to succeed in doing it.

Example :

English Learner: Did you succeed to find the keys that you lost?
Native Speaker: Did you manage to find the keys that you lost?

My example :

  • I manage to explain myself even without being a native speaker.

4. Using ''about to'' :


I usually use it instead of almost. That's how I understand it.

English Learner: I think it is going to rain soon.
Native Speaker: It looks like it’s about to rain.

My example :

  • I'm about to become perfect in English because I practice a lot. lol

5. Not using "very" :


He's what's written in the website :

Using "very" actually prevents you from applying more descriptive vocabulary.
For example, instead of saying "very large", you can say "huge"
Here are some more phrases that you can use instead of saying "very" :
very good - terrific, fabulous, excellent.
very bad - awful, terrible, dreadful
very small - tiny, microscopic
very old - ancient
very new - brand-new
very beautiful - gorgeous
very clean - spotlesss.

But I think if we want to use the word ''very'' less, we should learn more synonyms and enrich our vocabulary.

I hope this will help you to speak more natural English.


pngfuel.com (3).png

Follow me in twitter here : https://twitter.com/Clixmoney1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75