British Isles

in #england5 years ago

Ahh, the British Isles. I spent around 10 months living and traveling throughout England, Scotland and Wales. I enjoyed every minute of it. The Brits are a fascinating bunch and the phrase the Americans and British, two people separated by a common language is humorous and true. My british friends had quite a bit of fun with me by regularly asking me to pronounce something after which they would laugh. And football? They are dead serious about this and wouldn’t hesitate to clarify the that soccer is called Football, you Americans got it wrong.

Anyhow, I've posted experiences I had as I traveled and more will follow here shortly. You will read about most of the places I traveled to while I was there and have an opportunity to look at the hundreds of pictures and dozens of videos I took. There's a tremendous amount of history here and it was quite interesting wandering through the various castles, cathedrals and historical sites that literally dot the landscape. I quite enjoyed telling my friends of where I’d just been and ask them what they knew of it. Surprising though how much more I saw in the short time I was there than the people who actually lived in the country.
Cambridge England  8-31-2010 7-36-44 PM 1600x1200.jpg
It reminded me of back home when people come visit and tell me about it. I live within commuting distance of many interesting places but have never taken the time to visit ... not exotic enough I guess. It seems foreign countries are always more interesting than where you come from. The Brits seem to act the same way and were eager to visit the U.S. for a variety of reasons not the least of which was the lower cost for clothing.

That was a recurring theme I ran into while there, the Brits come to the U.S. with empty trunks and shop because the prices are so reasonable compared to where they live. Their currency at the time bought them around 60% more spending power than they had back home so a trip to the U.S. was quite reasonable.

I found my way as far north as Inverness, Scotland and as far south as the lower part of London on the expressway. I drove around the city once as I missed an exit while admiring the countryside and ended driving around the entire city so I went over and under the Themes.

Anyhow, look at all the pages, leave some comments (constructive, please) and enjoy them. It was a great time and I’d love to go back some day.

Visit and subscribe or friend me on my other Social Media and Travel sites and watch as I develop them.
https://wp.me/P3CC9J-6vq

Wizard of Where

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95