You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Calculating and deciding on thermal insulation for an energy-efficient house

in #engineering6 years ago

Great job, one thing to point out is that no matter how well engineered your insulation job is, letting 'small things' go can severely undermine your efficiency. Specifically, I'm thinking about keeping your air filters clear and the fact that one door with poor weatherstripping is similar to poking a rather large hole (a few sq cm) right through your painstakingly developed wall.

Kudos on making your own illustration. If I might suggest one thing, explicitly mention that it's in the public domain or released under a CC license (if that's your intent). In some jurisdictions, public domain can't be assumed and I think it helps google's image search engine identify the work too.

Sort:  

Yes, I have two of these problems in my house. Ceramic plates that touch the external wall, acting as 5 square meters cold radiator in the entry hallway and a fan with inverse flow hinges that get stuck when the wind from outside counters my inside fan. In some "special" winter mornings, my bathroom is naturally ventilated.

I actually want to see how I can make it and others public domain. It bugged me beyond reason to not be able to use one of the quintillion images of a wall sandwich :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66052.74
ETH 3320.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69