You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: INTRODUCTION TO CARTOGRAPHY

in #engineering6 years ago

One of my favorite fields of study is history, so I spent a lot of time deciphering some of the historical maps and comparing them with the maps of the same area which were created in different eras. Reading through your post I started wondering about people who were making maps hundreds of years ago without the technology we posses today. Do you by any chance know what kind of methods did cartographers in history use to gain knowledge necessary to draw the maps (besides traveling themselves and talking with travelers)?

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for reading!

I share your passion for history and therefore usually provide historical information regarding the scientific fields I blog about. The very first Cartographers were utilizing terrestrial observations which certainly included large estimation errors. I will elaborate on this in one of my next posts coming out soon and I will definitely provide historical information about Cartography. Be sure to stay tuned if you did enjoy this post! I'm not dodging your question, I just have a lot to say and have already planned to include such information in my next parts of this series. My next blog will be published within the next 2 days.

Thank you for reading and leaving a comment!

Great, I will check it out once you publish it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02