You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fun to know: Selecting materials in engineering

in #engineering6 years ago

Great article. I do however want to point out that it is kind of possible to 3d print wood. (well wood filament is available). It not the same as real wood with the natural grain etc but it gives a woodie like appearance. I'm sure in years to come we will be able to 3d print in many materials and create some amazing alloys/compounds.

Sort:  

I have heard of this, but I do not think of it as wood but something else :) But might be only me, I'm also careful with calling them on their real names to avoid disappointments.

Indeed it is more like a plastic. Woods intrinsic strength is from its grain structure but one day that may even be possible to emulate.

However I'm not saying these are bad things.. I've had one of those after I had a surgery:
http://woodcast.com/
You should check it out as I think innovations like this are crazy awesome :) I think it's biodegradable plastic mixed with wood.

Cool, I've never seen that before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71