Are You Listening?

in #engagement6 years ago

In a previous post, I discussed the importance of shutting off your autopilot once a day and practicing a little mindfulness.

--


Image Source

Now I want to talk to you about engaging with others, FULLY engaging with others.

Many of us go through our day talking to others but not really listening to what they have to say. Dr. Allan Nadig, a retired psychologist and Marriage and Family Therapist, talks about different modes of communication. He lists three main modes: Competitive or Combative Listening, Inactive or Passive Listening and Active Listening. His definitions of each can be found here.

When I work with couples and others in relationships, I found that most are in stuck in the Combative Mode, each wanting to air their grievances and slights against one another.

--


Image Source

Many people, in their work environments, tend to be in Passive Mode, assuming they heard what was expected of them or needed to be completed. At work, people tend to be so busy and stressed due to their various obligations, fully engaging with others is the last thing on their minds.

The most difficult mode to be in but the one where we are truly engaged with the other person is the Active Mode of Listening. This mode requires us to validate what the other person is telling us, to develop empathy towards the other person (e.g. “I think I heard you say this…if that correct?”). This holiday season; try to stay in the Active Mode of Listening when you are with family and friends. You will find that they truly appreciate this and may even unconsciously reciprocate.

This holiday season; try to stay in the Active Mode of Listening when you are with family and friends. You will find that they truly appreciate this and may even unconsciously reciprocate.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Interested in joining The Unmentionables? Click the banner to apply today!

Unmentionables

Sort:  

Good post you. Nice blog

I really find it difficult to talk to people not because I can't speak but because I do feel like there's nothing to talk about. Even at my place of work I don't relate with people I just face my job that all but all this seems to be making me far away from people and it affect my relationship also,but with this post I will try to start making amendments......Thanks for sharing this.

interesting how on the unmentionable page it talks about placing others before ourselves. Also interesting how this "curation" account is powering down. Lots of transfers going to bittrex these days. Hope the people in this group are fully aware of what they get into and someone is not taking advantage of them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76