Diamonds: Greatest Scams of All Time?

in #engagement7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!

Someone on here posted a couple of diamond rings they were considering getting for their girlfriend, and I felt genuinely sad.

If diamonds are a girls best friend.... Girls must really love having their men waste tons of money while supporting a criminal family that has been using slavery, as well as a host of other immoral/criminal activities for their personal profit.

NICE WORK LADIES!!

Yes - The De Boors started their criminal operation in 1888..... and basically used blackmail, extortion, slavery, and down right manipulation create "scarcity" so they could dominate the diamond market and make BILLIONS of a stone that is neither scarce, nor useful.

And how foolish is it to get down on one knee and convince a woman marrying you is a good idea.... because she will get a HUGE DIAMOND RING!!! Are you f'ing kidding me?

Great longer piece on the whole scam here.

If you really love your woman - go and DO something fun with her that will create lasting memories.

But if you MUST get a ring - go and make her a custom ring. (Or, better yet, matching rings!) 

Get a simple image of something that is specific to both of you (or an inside joke of some kind) and have it custom made.

This kind of creative time based investment truly shows her that you give a fuck. Because you TOOK TIME to CREATE.

So if you're GONNA get married (which most people do for all the wrong reasons), and you really want a ring.... Put some f'ing effort into it, rather than trying to impress a women with how much money you spent on a useless stone.

Seriously - you're humiliating yourself.

Me and Isabelle got rings... but I surprised her with some custom made Pig Rings (We're pigs. Long story) .... and it cost me around $20 per ring.


If you are truly needy enough to try secure a woman's love with a diamond ring - you are far more likely to push her away with your neediness than the guy who recognized his own worth and refused to participate in such an absurd system. 

Keep that in mind with your purchasing decisions ;) 

P.S I'd love to hear from the LADIES… what do ya'll think about all this?

Sort:  

I agree with this, and that's why I bought my wife a huge Moissanite ring instead for our engagement.

Bought my fiancee an engagement necklace on my way home from our longest trip apart from each other.

Bought her wedding wing together on vacation in Mexico (also where I got the necklace).

Neither were diamonds. Neither were expensive. She loves both more than anything because of what they symbolize, not because of the items themselves.

But for a while I put my happiness on hold thinking I had to wait until I could afford something expensive. That was silly.

Use the money to buy a house better or go to a nice honeymoon somewhere nice .... you both enjoy it 😎🤙🏼

Well, I agree that if you give her a Diamond Ring. She Really must love you. Or its because you really love her.

Gifts on relationship depends of Life Sytle you live.
I have sure that chocolate will make a girl a lot happier than object.
Thats just a roots opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42