You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Hey, congratulations on the prize with comedyopenmic. That was great! I need to see what the other person posted, but you did get second place, right? They decided to give me a door prize for my efforts, so after being told I wouldn't be eligible for anything, it feels good to be recognized with something. I think I'd like to do that on a regular basis. Just need to come up with it. It seems to be harder to do when it's intentional than when it's off the cuff, but we'll see.

Sort:  

@glenalbrethsen Why did they say you were not eligible ? I need to do an entry this week but am like you. I throw out jokes playing off other peoples posts or comments. Trying to be funny deliberately is a whole other thing. I would hate to come up with one and not be eligible.

If you haven't already, it's worth going and tracking down their original rules post. They generally have it linked in either the new week's contest post or in the result one.

In my case, I failed to see the part of it where it said the entry needed to be totally original. While I'd say 99% of it was, the joke itself is well known and even published. So, even though I came up with 2000 words of backstory for our thieving convicts, the joke wasn't mine. I did get a door prize, though, which was very nice of them.

Yeah. It's strange, but the comedic juices flow when someone else is saying something. I have had some success when I've been writing in script form, or a dialogue back and forth between two imaginary people. I might have to go that route. I just need to shorten it up. Too much time for something that might not pay off. There's a bang for the buck quotient to be met. :)

I don't think I got second place, but I got a prize. I'm really thankful for that. I see they gave you one as well. I'm glad you got some recognition out of it. You can always wait for it to be off the cuff and enter when you get inspired.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42