You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Could have pressed much harder. Yeah, great. Whatever. This is like superman versus the ant, then. Mere mortals, I am just toying with you.

Do what you got to do with the yard. Somehow, though, I don't think it's going to take the entire week, and I'm sure I'll still be somewhere in your dust.

No Name sounds like he's backing off, too. Of course, I've heard all of that before, and then no one slacks off, so I'm just going to do what I can with whatever time the wife allows me while she's off work this week. Next week, though, may be much better. Maybe. :)

Sort:  

haha! you're the best glenalbrethsen..or is that the beast?
well it's not just the yard work although we have 15 acres and alot of cutting, trimming, thinning, landscaping, planting, mowing..it's not just getting the mower out and spending half a day. then there's other outside repairs and work but some of those could wait until it's not freaking 110 degrees out!

so yes, I've already cut back. I feel bad for noname because he really worked hard last week but when I said that I was thinking about stepping back last week I changed my mind and told most everyone ..at least I thought I did. because I started thinking how fun it would be to break that 1,000 comment mark so that's what I did.

I did slack off some but spent some late nights as well. It's hard to take off much because when you have a list of comments that you haven't gotten to what are you going to do? not answer them after working to develop relationships with those people?

I did really suck in one area last week though and that was in the number of different people I voted for, it said 47. that's pitiful, everyone had more than me. I mean it's frustrating to only have a certain number of votes until it makes no difference and you aren't helping anyone and I seem to be at that level alot. like right now my voting power is at 50%.

It's alot of fun, this contest thing but man, I really don't like people making it between you and I because I don't really want to compete with you and I just see you as the "real" writer and author. I just have fun and ask questions that's all. If someone did the math on how long the average length of our comments were, mine would look like a joke compared to yours! lol.

while you write about real ideas and concepts which are much of the time serious little mini books, I'm like asking someone what they do for a living or something like that! lol. no comparison. that's why I don't like the comparison thing. too bad your wife is off this week though.

Well, you and I are in the same boat when it comes to the comparisons, but if it makes people interested and do as much as they can do, that's great. It's when people feel discouraged because they don't have time to keep up is what I'm concerned about.

This isn't so much about who is the writer and who isn't. It's about the best engagers, and you, sir, are the best by far. Even if it's just asking questions, which I'd say is only one part of what you do, you still need to keep the conversation going.

And with this reply you just proved you can write more. Now, there's no hope whatsoever. :)

It's okay, though. Being the winner should be fun. We both have time to do it, and there are some others, too, so we just need to keep at it. Those of us who do have the time probably should be incorporating some of our commenting to spreading the word about the leagues. I think some do that regularly. I feel like I need to do it more.

You're just going to have to accept the lower SP and curation for the time being, unless you have something to invest or someone else comes along with a delegation. Even where I'm at, which isn't that high, it gets tough. I just flat out gave up voting on comments after the first or second one in a conversation late last week because I was running out of VP.

You do want to make an impact when you vote and you want to spread it out as far as you can. You just can't do both at lower SP, so you try to build up and work your way up. With the delegation you do have, it will help, but it is what is. I'm not sure where you need to be in order to be in a good place to spread upvotes around, but I don't think it's anywhere in minnow territory, which means there's a ways to go yet.

No Name will be okay. He's good at keeping in it as much as he can without getting too carried away. He must have had time to devote to it more than normal last week or he would have been off doing other things. As it is, he had the best week he's had, he said. But he's not one of the ones that has all day to work it like you and I do.

re: long list of comments

Yeah, so just think of what it's going to be like when you're a dolphin and have a rep in the mid to upper 60s and more and more people are commenting on your posts. Instead of a dozen or so, it becomes three dozen first level comments, and that list of replies is going to be nuts. Good thing is, you won't have to go too far to interact with folks. Bad thing is, you won't have to go far to interact with folks. Somehow, the balance still needs to be maintained.

And no way do you want to give up on the connections. They're going to be a part of what gets you where you want to go, just as you will be a part of theirs. I don't go all in on the "we're in it together" idea, but there's no denying that there is an interlocking going on. You can't have conversations by yourself. So, you want to keep engaging and hope they can and will, too.

re: yard work to do

I was thinking you wouldn't be doing it all in one day, or that you'd manage to get some time on Steemit, regardless, so you wouldn't be completely gone, and you would still have enough time to stay in the running. Where you're at right now, with the comments, if you keep the CL up, you don't need over 1,000 to keep first place, let alone in the Top 10. Only if you want to win by 18,000-plus points. :)

howdy Glen! I've been behind since yesterday when our internet was down twice for hours. I got two people to join the contest, smithlabs and mepatriot. do you know those guys? I don't think so at least if you saw their posts you rudely didn't comment on them! lol

smithlabs is amazing, one of the most brilliant, above genius level people I've ever met, electrical engineer, inventor, fabricator, manufacturer, herbalist, natural food guy, mechanic, designer, big companies hire him to trouble shoot problems, in fact if you get to know him I challenge you to come up with something that he doesn't know about. he has a photographic memory, he has coin colletions, gem collections, gun collections, he builds guns, I mean anything you can think of he's into or knows about. and he has a heart of gold and helps alot of people.

But I need to invite more people into the league too, I did a post on it and didn't get a single person interested.

Yeah I've been watching people like papa-pepper (77) and how he does his commenting to get an idea when I get alot of them on my posts. that does get to be a nice challenge. right now I'm way down in my commenting compared to last week.
thank you sir for all your words of wisdom!
has your wife wanted you to take off and do something this week?

She's been talking about making runs to stores—the outlet mall, Macy's, etc. There was some talk about the coast, too, but I'm not sure if that's happening or not. We've got the granddaughter to consider in all of this, too, and since she's just one, there's naps to take and only so much traveling she endures.

Papa Pepper is probably a good person to watch as far as comments go. He seems to be doing quite a lot of things outside of Steemit which then gives him material to put on Steemit. There will probably come a point where there's enough comments coming in that you just won't be able to get to them all. It's a good problem to have, really. :)

I have seen mepatriot and smithlabs commenting on things where you're concerned, either your posts or elsewhere. I think I did comment on something with smithlabs last week. Have not yet with mepatriot, but I will be because I've been trying to at least comment with others in the league once a week, if not much more. It just depends on if we connect and how well. :)

Smithlabs sounds like he's got a lot going, which makes me wonder why he's here :) while giving me some comfort that he is. He should never run out of material to post, or things to talk about. Being a jack of all trades, and maybe even a master in many, is a good place to be on Steemit. And if he's a good guy, too, well... even better. :)

You challenge me to come up with something he doesn't know, eh? Well, I think I'll wait on that for a while. If I do, though, it will probably be inadvertent, rather than on purpose. :)

Need to get that internet going. Is is suffering from heat fatigue? We have occasional outages here, but for the most Xfinity/Comcast does a good job.

And this is comment No. 5,000 for me. You're well past that, I see. I'm still acknowledging it here. :)

sir Glen! good day to ya sir. well I was thinking that if you won this week it would be good for the League and contest would it not? when I go to step back I then realize that I have this big list of people that I've tried to get some kind of relationship going with..and I can't just not answer them!

I am back down from last week, like yesterday I did 115 comments but last week I think I averaged 150 a day. so this is harder to cut back than I thought, plus I still have precious little time to come up with a decent post! lol.

yeah I've noticed that the big guys only comment on comments to their posts, I guess they don't have time to visit very many other's posts. Except papa-pepper, he never sleeps I don't think, puts out 4 or 5 posts a day and it's everyday life stuff that he's doing on his homestead, alot about plants and gardening, teaching all about that stuff. plus tons of animal things.

I don't understand your last sentence. I have no idea where to find this information so I'm always clueless about numbers. 5,000 comments from when?

I wonder about smithlabs also, he has so many ongoing projects that it boggles the mind,he literally hardly ever sleeps though, actually.
but everything I mention he's already done it, has it, made it, read it, ate it, wrote about it, researched it...it's just astounding. so good luck trying to stump him, let me know when you do, gotta happen sometime.

I still think authors are a cut above on here.
thank you sir for your thoughts!

Okay. 115 comments a day is still a decent amount. I got up to 71 yesterday, and that was after answering everyone mentioning me on the league results post, catching up with the replies since late Saturday night and then starting in on my feed. over the last several weeks, that represents the highest in a day I've done. My best is 90. So, you on a down day are still better by 25 comments what I am on my best day. :)

I don't know if it's best for you to back off. I did it because there was no one putting in the time I was, at least not to the extent I was. Now, you're here and so there's at least two of us running at it, and potentially more because of the newer faces.

Personally, I'd rather we were both running at full strength. Then, we have clear winners, rather than one stepping back. We've all got something we need to do and contend with, so whatever time there is that's what we dedicate to Steemit and the leagues.

I don't know how busy the bigger fish are. I guess it depends. I think some of them might be, others aren't, and others aren't even on regularly, because they've found something else to do. I don't know if I'd be able to keep up or not, but I'd like to think I would try. At this point, I don't really have a desire to attack this from some other way, like leasing delegation or some other form of passive income. I'd prefer to keep on writing.

If you bring up steemworld.org under your username, it will show you in the stat window how many comments and posts you have since you started. In my case, my 5,000 are from January 1 when I first started commenting. Yours would be from whenever you started.

sir Glen..ok I guess I agree. I'm still trying to back off so I can get some work done but I found it was alot harder than I realized because of all the comments coming in and I can't NOT answer them! lol.
but I have cut the number significantly by not responding when there is a spot in the conversation where it could end so I just let it end where before I would keep it going longer, or at least try.

I don't think I have the number of characters typed though so I'm expecting you to gain that title back, which you should,I think that belongs to you or should belong to you!
I hope this all makes sense.

Oh, I don't think it belongs to me. I just claim it. :)

You created the CL last week that made the record, and so you own it now. If I can make more than that without you making more, great. If not, there's next week and the one after that.

You don't need to worry about what I've got or don't got. It's not about any of this. I'm just finding a way to motivate myself to try to keep up. This is supposed to be fun, so keep doing what you do. The only real reason why anything should be curtailed is because you don't have the time due to other things. Not because of anything I want or don't want, or anything anyone else might want. It's a competition, and it's meant to be competitive. Otherwise, there isn't much reason for it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48