You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

I had some larger comments this week, but I'm significantly below 1,000 characters on average, so nowhere near a 1,000 words on a regular basis. That would probably be something like 4,000 to 5,000 characters per comment. There's no way I'm doing that. Even the people with the highest average of CL on the Top 100 list aren't doing that. The highest I calculated was around 1,700 characters per comment. I'm generally over a third of that. This week, I'm just less than half, so there has been an uptick in CL over normal. Just need to keep going with the comments and hope the lower tier replies keep up with them.

Sort:  

well ok but you HAVE done 1,000 word comments before right? I'll only say 1,000 word comments if I'm teasing you or for dramatic effect! lol.

I haven't actually counted words, but I have had some that went over 5,000 characters, which would be close. There's one that's around 12,000 characters floating out there somewhere if I remember right. It's on one of Asher's posts where you can request the list. But it's the only one that long. I think the next longest is 6,000-something.

Things like that do pack more punch the less they're used. :)

ha!! 12,000 characters! what is the average length of a word in characters for you, I'm sure it varies for each person?

I have no idea. I'm guessing somewhere in the neighborhood of five or six, though. There are a lot of small words we use throughout a sentence. I think that keeps the character count down, but I really haven't looked to see. I could figure it out, though, since Word keeps track of both.

Okay, looks like for the week, I'm averaging 5.29 characters per word.

that sounds too small for you. lol

Well, you've got 4.85 characters per word in your reply there, so you're not that far behind me. :)

That might be an interesting list to see if Asher could pull that data off the blockchain, to see what the longest characters per word averages were. :)

hahaha! only you would care about that Glen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58444.83
ETH 2537.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49