You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Congratulations on the top spot again! Four in a row ties a record you, know. I think you're in second or third all time for the total number of comments in a week (I'd have to check for sure), and that score is at least second place all time, too.

We all rely on one another for engagement. Plus, we hope to bring others into the fold. So whatever @themanwithnoname and I did still requires you and everyone else do something, too. Like you acknowledged here in your reply.

I think you had an incredible week. The question is, can it be duplicated or exceeded? I think you've got plenty of people rooting for you. :)

Sort:  

well thank you sir that means alot. I doubt if it will be duplicated or exceeded this week but it's still early. Last night I ran out of people to talk to. I may have to enlist someone to stay up all night and discuss things. I'm trying to make new friends but alot of people don't want to talk much, I probably scare them off!

That seems to be an ongoing problem. They don't want to talk, don't have time to talk, are shocked that someone talked to them, scared that someone did, annoyed that someone is talking to them—I'm sure it runs the gambit. To each their own, I guess.

I do have to say, though, to pull off another 800-plus comment week, you need people to talk to. :) I've been having that problem at 300 comments a week and less, but in my case, I overwhelm with words. :)

Still, very well done, especially if you don't duplicate or exceed, since that combination of comments and CL was unheard of until you did it. The overall CL has been either higher but the number of comments lower, or the CL has been lower, but the comments higher. So, rarefied air keeps getting rarer.

yes sir, most of the time people probably have better things to do than to be on Steemit chatting away. go figure! lol
thank you for the kind words, I try but I don't really consider myself anywhere near your level because I have a hard time writing more than a few sentences at a time. that's not much of a writer!

I wonder where a year from now will find us?
what if we aren't even on Steemit, then it would be alot of time for nothing. well the friendships are wonderful but I assume most of them would eventually fade into dust.

As long as the STEEM blockchain exists, and especially as long as STEEM is being traded and actively transacted, be it through the existing apps on the platform, SMTs, or straight up commerce, what we're doing now will be worth it, because STEEM will be worth something. I need it to be worth more than $2.82 USD (that's my average per STEEM in investments right now), but maybe I can manage to bring that cost down a bit more.

Whether or not we're still doing things here in a year will depend on what happened to the social media platform and the connecting apps, as well as whether or not there' still a way to earn rewards. You're right about the friendships. I'm not sure if I can truly call them that yet because except for a few who have decided to use at least some portion of their name, I don't even know that. It's tough to have friends when you've never met them in person and they're anonymous. Even so, there are a few I talk with regularly that are anonymous that I would like to eventually know more about, like their name, so that's at least something. :)

I don't think we need to compete with one another as far as whatever perceived writing abilities we have or don't have. And, you're doing more than trying. Your achieving. A lot of people have less experience writing than I do, and I've never been formally trained. My highest English course is still from high school (unless I took a general ed course of it the year I went to BYU), so I don't have a degree in it, and when I owned the newspapers, we didn't follow any particular stylebook. We used the upside down pyramid method, but as far as grammar and other styling goes, I don't even know what it is.

I just like to write, and by extension, to read, so I've learned to form sentences and use an expanded vocabulary list in the doing. For as much writing that someone could do here, it wouldn't take too long to sharpen up any skills needed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32