You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Or old ways to muck it up that we're just barely finding out about before they change it to something new to muck it up with.

I don't know. It's getting hard to find new ways to say it, but for as much potential STEEM has, and for all that is actually going right with it, there's all of these other "What The What?!" things going on that you'd scratch your head raw on.

I think we found that out with the freezing of the blockchain last night.

Who knew that you could actually try to give yourself $38 million SP? Who knew that could make it through whatever safety protocols there might be for such things? I guess the only thing that was known is the blockchain would freeze up before it would allow the transaction to take place. Otherwise, no one knew it was going to happen until it did, because the blockchain is too complex to know all of what might go wrong with it until it does.

I'm not a dev. I don't think I'd ever want to be one. I would think, though, that seizing up the blockchain every time someone manages to perform a transaction that gets by the built in filter preventing such transactions wouldn't be great for business, just as all of us magically giving ourselves 38 million SP isn't good for business.

But, apparently, I can't have my filter work and the blockchain not seize up. It's one or the other, and I should be happy it's the latter.

Sort:  

I don't know, man. I think there are a lot of people who lost a fair amount of confidence in the Steem blockchain after yesterday's debacle. "There was a box that wasn't checked"? That's bullcrap. And even if it were true, that's not good news that you guys can't pay close enough attention to the check boxes that you forget to check the one that says "block fraudulent transaction instead of shutting down blockchain."

I'm not bullish on Steem right now. I know the price just jumped, but I think it's going to drop right back down again.

Then again, I think there's a price pump going on right now.
image.png

Being that the price is so much higher than the other exchanges, I would imagine that it's a group of people who are selling Steem back and forth at higher price levels to try to inflate the price and get the other exchanges to follow. That's just a guess though. I really have no clue.

I would say it's as good a guess as any, and pretty much what's been happening to date, and most recently with SBDs. Things seem to happen over the weekend for some reason.

You're the second person that seems suspicious about what really happened. I got in a conversation with pfunk after he asked me if I would rather the nijeah account get the 38 million SP or the blockchain shutdown, and that's when I said, I'd rather neither. He then let me know it was impossible for any software as complex as the blockchain to be totally bug free.

I get it. I really do. I think there's so much code, and there's more than a couple of people working on it and so there's moving parts, blah, blah, blah. But don't you think, once it happens, once someone does a transaction to vest themselves with SP, that it kind of opens the doors for others to try to come up with creative ways to get the blockchain to do something, or crash?

It just seems to me that you go looking at the payout operations and how many ways you could possibly mess that up, and then you go check the filter for those specific transactions and you makes sure they're airtight. I guess that's not how development works. You wait until it's broken and then you fix it. With a patch, in some cases, that makes things that were working just fine break. Okay, that's not what happened here (I'm just generalizing with every Windows update I ever did before switching to OSX. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48