Engagement Story

in #engagement6 years ago

I am actually the wife who purchased her own engagement ring (with the husband’s money of course!) I really liked the idea of an engagement ring and preferred the look to a wedding band, so this was an important purchase that I wanted control over.

[One of the things that surprised me was] How upset my now husband was about not buying the engagement ring (we have different tastes and I wouldn't trust him to buy me things since he always looks at price, and I didn't want something tacky).

With the sales assistants, since I was the female buying my own engagement ring, I felt that the pre-conceived notion that the guy should purchase the ring made it very difficult for me to enjoy this time of me buying something I have wanted. I was uncomfortable about having to explain myself throughout the process to everyone involved.

_

These all involve money, love, societal expectations, gender roles … and no one ever gives you an honest look into it all.

I want to.

More coming your way on my special Valentine’s Day post (with charts, numbers, more stories, and my process for buying a ring for my fiancée). I can’t wait to share it with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56