You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How many people did you speak to / spoke to you last week? (Engagement League scoring potential)

in #engagement6 years ago (edited)

Yess! Great update!

Exclude top level replies, which have nothing to do with our engagement. When we reply and generate more engagement, it will count.

A character limit has pros and cons. Some of my best replies are haikus, which are usually pretty short, but could now provide bonus engagement by summoning the haikubot.

I'm not sure how worried you should be about gamification, this is gamification! I happen to take the goals seriously, ie I read every post and try to reply from the depths of my heart, but I am doing certain things like staying up late to engage more because you made a game out of it.

How can you compare sincerity among participants? If there are top users who's comments I believe are less sincere than mine, what metric would I use to prove it? Life is a game friend, and we are all playing it, in our own way.

I get upvotes on my hundreds of comments, and I think, not sure, that they are even more valuable than top prize here. I make more new friends, find more new people to follow, and get more new followers, all because you made a game offereing a few steem. And I like to win ;p

Oh, and I like the 'spoke to me' stat, because that does have some relevance to how engaging my comments are.

Sort:  

Exclude top level replies, which have nothing to do with our engagement. When we reply and generate more engagement, it will count.

You are the first to side with this, and speak positively about the 'spoke to me' stat.

I've included top level comments this week, and not added a 'spoke to me' score for now. If i get more people agreeing that this is a useful metric then I will add it.

My thinking was that if a reply was engaging enough to warrant a response, this should be scored. But others suggested it was not fair to be scored on if someone replied to you or not...

Good point re:haikubot!

Thanks for the comments!

Wow, you are fast! I know I didn't specifically ask, but I suppose I will see my stats in a few hours on the main post right?

I have a tendency to have contrarian viewpoints, but I don't mind if I get outvoted, it happens a lot. Steem just happens to be a great place to share views and (probably because of rewards) most people are so nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54336.36
ETH 2283.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34