You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues - Sponsored by @carlgnash and @paulag!

in #engagement6 years ago

Once again awesome to have this league open again Asher! And a big congrats to @glenalbrethsen now with a cool nickname of the immovable force! You have set the record now for time at the top, and I know how hard that is, so my hat is off to you for sure! Great job!

It is awesome to see @johndoer123 and @creyestxsa94 move into number's 2 and 3. I could tell when I saw their participation in the Play 4 a Newbie Challenge that both of them were going to be great engagers on their own! Congrats to both of you :)

Its also good to see @lynncoyle1 and @gillianpearce rounding out the top 5, you both are steady and amazing every week!

Thank you also for the prize of "0 votes to self - Spot Prizes", you found another way to encourage behavior that you seek! I will be donating my prize in your name to @friendsofgondor, so your prize will be further helping your fellow #stewardsofgondor members!

I also want to again thank @paulag and @carlgnash for making this league possible every week, it is very exciting to see a new batch of engagers that are now coming into their own and I think this league contributes to that happening!

I even see some new names on the list that are making themselves stand out, so I am excited to see the future as we continue to build this awesome community together!

Great job Asher and glad to have you back for sure! :)

Sort:  

Yes I hope Glen likes his new nickname and doesn't think of it being too literal :D

It's always nice to see new names mixed in with the regulars, and it gives me a good chance to share out a little delegation each week. I'm trying to get my account to 10k SP 'in use', having recently passed that (huge!) milestone of ownership - we shall see if I can do that whilst delegating a little each time.

The Spot prizes just came to mind on the day when I saw 6/7 in the 11/20 range who's not voted for themselves and done well enough to earn something. I hope the small prize 'offsets' the lack of votes to self and think in some cases it's actually more than the personal reward would have been.

Here's to a good week for us all, cheers!

Just for the record, I could certainly be called for worse, so, thanks for the kind nickname, and no, I'm not taking it literally. I have to say, though, I've heard of the immovable object and the irresistible force, so does that mean you've combined both here? :) Just clarifying here. :)

haha, I guess so! You are the complete package, and going nowhere it seems!

I knew he would like the new nickname IF... and awesome on crossing 10k SP that is amazing... As far as usable, if you keep giving it out to people like me to use, it will make it much harder to reach your goal... The good thing though is the longer it takes to make the tree grow high, the more that the tree base grows wide. You are building a very strong base for sure!

Here's your sticker for hitting that milestone!!!

I wrote a post about this, right? You can pick your friends but you can't pick your nicknames. :)

Sad thing is, I was really trying to up my comment count, which I did, but it came at the expense of the character count, which wasn't so good. Made it much closer than I like it to be. Plus, I'm trying to get up to 50,000 points, not keep dropping. So, whatever my strategy was last week has to change for this week, or it's only going to get worse.

I am glad to be a part of these leagues, and I'm glad that I could set the standard a little higher. Maybe I'll move it some more. Maybe not. Meeting my match could come sooner than later. And I probably won't see it coming, even if I am swiveling as fast as I can. :)

You did and I remember it well... I like the new nickname though, and your abbreviate is IF.. :P

And I haven't payed as much attention to your strategy, but you are definitely setting the bar higher... I love that you have been able to maintain that level for a solid month.

I do think you need to stay on your toes as #2 and #3 are new and climbing fast, and both of them are very competitive as I saw during the Play 4 a Newbie Challenge

I can see they're pretty competitive just by the number of comments and the CL. Well, it wouldn't be the first time I guess. Just got to keep plugging along and see what happens. Not sure I know how else to do this.

My strategy was to try and comment more this week, since I've been hovering mostly in the range of high 200s to low 300s. This time I commented more than I ever have, but the CL was lower than it has been in weeks. So, apparently, I let that slip trying to comment more. Need to find that happy balance between the two. One kind of drives the other, it seems.

IF, hunh? Not sure if that quite works, but maybe I can come up with a scenario where it does. Here comes IF. Hide! I don't know. I'll work on it.

lol... IF is what we all have to compete against. If we want to win, then we need to be better than IF. The IF is very strong, so we need to either up our game if we want to be the IF, or we need the IF to get weaker or bored.

Not sure it works yet either, but I will keep at it until I find a way to make it stick.

Because that is, after all the important part: Making IF stick. :)

lol... I have a feeling that IF is going to live up to that nickname! And while I didn't name it, I'm happy to promote it! :)

Thanks Dave, and congratulations to you as well. Glen, the novelist, is truly unstoppable!

I agree, he is the Immovable Force :) ... and you will always be the Queen of Gondor in my eyes, so don't feel bad :P

and you my King :)...of gondor that is. Just in case Glen reads this because he is the king as well :)

haha... yes there is a need to hedge here on this one... The IF is going to be there for awhile so you don't want to p..s him off ;)

hahaha hedging it is!

just don't tell him... I will keep it a secret just between us... Neither of us have to let IF know.

haha I'm still chuckling with "IF" :)

In case I read this. Of course, I'll read it!

If I were actually playing into this whole royalty thing, I'd be saying something like. "My spies are everywhere, ever listening, ever reporting anyone that ever bespeaks my name. For good or ill. And I will respond to every mention. Eventually." :)

But, I'm not really buying into the whole royalty gig, so if Dave wants to be king of the leagues and you the queen, or if you want to switch it up and be kings and queens of other things, hey, go for it.

As it is, I have enough of time trying to be the king of my own personal castle. Remember the Mexican food decree fiasco? Yeah, that.

haha Glen. It's Sunday and here we are... full circle buddy :)

Hold on here. It's not Sunday yet. I've still got another 14 hours or so before Saturday is more or less over. I know it's Saturday because my Macbook says it is. So does my iPhone. So, let's not short me the day, okay? 😬

I realized that this morning. Actually in the wee hours of the morning because I've been up with a stomach flu or bad taco. Enjoy your day, but I'm out for now! :)

Oh, man. It must be going around or something. I've got something I've been fighting off with only mild success myself. It's an odd combination of things. Haven't had any bad tacos (maybe a torta?), though. It kind of started after I ate Life cereal for the first time in a while. Which is weird. Now, I think it might be a combination of things.

Anyway. I hope you get to feeling better soon.

Okay, so much going on here that I'm putting the wrong replies under the wrong comments, so I'm editing this.

I was the not-so-novelist this week. Comments up. Characters down. Not good. So, need to try to do something about this week, even if I'm only trying to be complete.

It's cool to see all the new competition. Just getting too close for comfort. :)

Oh my goodness, please don't up the ante anymore than it already is!! :)

You actually might want me upping the ante, because each time I try it, the numbers actually go down. It's the time or two that I was actually trying to back off that thing ballooned. Not at all sure how that's suppose to work, but whatever. I'm not used to doing things that logically do one thing but have the inverse result. I'm not captain counter intuitive. :)

haha there's your next graphic novel hero, Captain Counter Intuitive !! Ohhh the possibilities :)

Captain Counter Intuitive arrives at the scene of a tense stand off between police and armed bank robbers with hostages. "What are you doing?" says the chief of police, as CCI saunters by.

"I'm going in there."

"They've already said they will shoot all of the hostages. We can't risk it."

"It's okay. I have an active thermonuclear bomb strapped to my chest, set to go off if they kill me."

"You're crazy! Get back here! That's insane!"

"Insane enough to work."

hahahaha I knew you wouldn't be able to resist!! :)

Thank you Mr. @davemccoy to have me convinced in joining this league, and i thank all of you who drove me towards the understanding of the true steemit community. I say true, because it was in this community that i was able to find people who really care to communicate, offer a helping hand with the only interest of participation. I am glad i am seeing you more here Dave, but sorry that i am somehow absent myself.

I already made my post, but i would like to express my gratitude to @paulag and @carlgnash who are investing so much to make this league a great community gathering friends and helping us all grow stronger. There are so many names i could thank here, for showing me how to blog, interact, ins and outs of posting etc. I thank you all and hope to connect soon with each single one of you.
From @triplef

I am confident you are really going to make a lot of friends here @triplef! Don't worry about how much time you are able to spend, just keep being yourself and you will fit right in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41