You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Thank you @themanwithnoname

I do like to hear about prizes being powered up right away :)

This week there were 320 valid entrants into the Engagement League, which means that 180 members who are on the list didn't make a comment at all this past week. That actually sounds like quite a lot, but I would suggest that 400 out of 500 accounts created since the start of the year are no longer posting - That would be in line with @paulag's findings last month.

"You can engage with others, but for it to be meaningful, you must first engage with yourself."

Nice line!

Cheers!

Sort:  

I happened to be around, so I think I had that powered up before you even got the post out. :)

I would suggest that 400 out of 500 accounts created since the start of the year are no longer posting

Sadly, 80% of new accounts going inactive sounds about right. There seems to be an influx, then slowly they leave. Do you have a limit on how long they can be inactive before you don't include them in the League?

That wasn't my best quote. They're meant to be more humorous, but I'm really tired and couldn't come up with something right away. That's the rule, it's got to be a top-of-the-head thing.

"You can put a hat on your head, but if your head isn't screwed on right, the hat will fall off with it and get dirty. That's why I always get extended warranties on my hats."
-themanwithnoname

I include them in the list, but if there is no comment in a week then they won't appear - and return to the list if they then return.

No need for humour when the quote makes good sense - I was thinking it was a spiritual effort 😊

So they're really on the list until they opt out. That's probably not a big deal if it doesn't take any longer to run the query.

It was supposed to be semi-spiritual. Normally my new quote series is funny though, so I was trying to do both. It was too much.

"Before you juggle many knives at one time, make sure you know how to juggle. Surprisingly, not everyone thinks of this."
-themanwithnoname

hahaha what's with the quotes today? I like them!

After talking with @glenalbrethsen about how I kept misquoting him, I decided to start sharing some wisdom with people by way of making up quotes. :D

Well if it's ok with you @themanwithnoname, I may join in with some quotes of my own.

"When you're unsure of the accuracy of something, simply make it up using stats and big words. No one will notice a thing."
-lynncoyle1

"Just for the record, @themanwithnoname had already made up at least one of his own quotes when he mixed around a word or two in a reply I made to him, which I happened to like his interpretation of better anyway. So, in pointing this out, I'm not trying to perpetuate his assertion that he 'keeps misquoting me' because he doesn't. He actually consistently remembers things much better than I do (or he bothers to go back and look). If anything, this is a giving credit where credit is due thing. :)"
—glenalbrethsen

Heh, that's ok. Pretending to not know fits more with the persona that I'm trying to present.

"I always liked presents. I think it's funny that you present presents when you give them. You also give gifts when you're present. It's much harder to bat bats when you're batty."
-themanwithnoname

I think that's a great idea!

"67% of statistics are made up on the spot."
-statistician

Actually, the list is taking longer to compile and so I may at some point need to think about removing the inactive.

I can juggle 3 items quite well, never tried with knives though!

I was wondering about the compiling time. Maybe if someone misses three or four in a row then they're removed until they ask to get back in. Vacations can go two weeks sometimes, but three weeks might mean they gave up. I don't know.

"They said they were going to close the inactive accounts, so I went out and spent all my money... just in case."
-themanwithnoname

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46