SHS Journey Under Lockdown by Remberto B. Marsada Jr.

in #eng62 years ago

g12.jpg

My Senior High School Life wasn’t as I expected it to be. I expect waking up early in the morning, getting dressed, and going down the road and take the bus and see the big city. However, none of it happened. The pandemic messed it up. I stayed at home all day. Attending online classes instead of going into a physical school and talk with friends and experience high school life in the city. The social isolation I’ve been through really messed up my personality and sense of humor. I mean 2020 wasn’t the first time I feel so isolated but the lockdown even made me more anti-social. I have become really shy and introverted. I avoided a lot of friends not because I have changed but because I was just really shy to socialize. The only good thing perhaps, was that I was so innocent and obedient. I guess introverted people are really like that. Sometimes, I happen to meet people I knew when shopping in malls or walking at the park. I always managed to not get seen because I wanted to avoid conversations. How crazy was that.

Anyways, the pros of Online Classes were that I have a lot of free time on my hands. I did not have to go to the city and attend classes. Instead classes are in my hands. Like literally. You just need a phone and you’re all set. You can listen and participate to your teacher discussing. I was really introverted when class 2020 started. I don’t think I could have managed going to school that time. But I guess I was really lucky. Sometimes, you really just need to look at the different side of life to see the good side. At 11th Grade I was given a promise by my brother-in – law that he would help me join in the Philippine Air Force. I was also really against school and didn’t have any plan on going there. In fact, I had really bad grades at the first of the semester. However, all of that changed when I was proposed with a promise. My brother in law worked at the Philippine Air Force. He’s a sergeant and has been working in the militia for 13 years. So, I guess he’s really credible to help me join the Force. I was really happy to hear that and have been working hard on my academics and also with my physical well-being. In order to join the service, one needs only not his brains but also his physical capabilities and will-power. So, I started training myself and have been also working hard for it. So this is how my day went. I usually wake up at 4:00AM; I’d go and prepare breakfast. I’d eat light, not a lot of food so that it doesn’t interfere with my running routine minutes after this. After eating, I sit back and open my computer to read some emails or chats on Facebook and Instagram. After 20 minutes, I’d go ahead and take a shower and try to fight with the coldness of the water. I’d sometimes sit and enjoy the water hitting on my face. Showers are actually combined with bowel movements and after 25 minutes in total. It’ll all be over and I’d go ahead and dress up. I’d grab my pair of running shoes take some running shorts, a good t-shirt and grab my phone and my speedometer which I wore in my arms like a watch. I’d walk down the neighborhood to get some warm-up then when in the main road I begin my usual jog. I run for like 5 kilometers, that was the usual rate but at Wednesdays and Fridays. I’d run 8-10 kilometers. I was really training so hard to be in shape and be physically active. I was preparing a lot to join the military. After the 5 km run I’d go home and open my computer again to attend classes. Which is usually from 8AM-2PM, after that my body really needs some rest and so I’d turn my computer off and just lay down on bed scrolling through Facebook and trying to relax. After an hour of two of lying down I’d get up again to do Activities that were posted on the LM S. After that, I go and do some chores which in some times I usually couldn’t. Because I get lazy after class and I just really prefer to watch Netflix till dark. But sometimes, I’d go and clean the floor. Help mom with the dishes, and do my own laundry. And then go and get some sleep at 9 or 10 PM. Then wake up again and repeat. That’s how my life went for almost 2 years and I kind of feel lonely and trapped.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44