You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Renewable Energy: Correcting Some of the Myths

in #energy6 years ago

Good post and nice read :) I'm happy to find you here on Steemit since I'm also pro-renewable energy and it was one of the first tags I looked into! I agree with everything you said. But I insist in the idea that governments need to give a little push to renewables because it will drive the market to make them more and more competitive. We really want to shape the market, drive it artificially to suit the needs of the society.

Same happens with batteries and the Tesla fanboys. What they're doing now will not change much and it's definitely non-sustainable. It just won't work in a large scale. But they're shifting scientists's and manufacturer's focus into creating new, better, cheaper and more eco-friendly batteries that can really be a better alternative not only to developed countries but also for the developing ones!

Sort:  

Thanks for posting on here also so we can continue our discussion from your post. I hope that we can share articles like yours and mine that we find on Steemit and grow our community of renewables/energy enthusiasts.
I agree that batteries are better than diesel and gasoline fumes, but the resources needed also lead to problems in sourcing them. That is my major concern. Eventually, will car components (batteries included) become so expensive that only the rich will be able to afford vehicles? I think the automobile industry will overcome the pricing hurdles faster in the near future than wind turbines and solar panels, but how long before we start seeing a decline in battery components? Just a thought.

I believe demand for cheaper batteries will give a huge push in research and development (I believe that is already happening). The one manufacturer who can get a patented better, cheaper, durable and safe battery will have a major advantage in the market. There is a run for solid state batteries like never seen before...

I'm also into free market and I believe it will regulate itself... At least I hope so!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50