Why I Switched To The Most Secure Phone Ever

in #encryption8 years ago (edited)

You can have Secure IoT. People around the world demanded a mobile phone that protects them from hackers and data theft and one company always had the answer.

I had been using a different brand, the Sony Experia, for the past couple years happily until a few days ago I made the BIG switch. I knew living in China for the past 4 years meant absolutely no privacy on my phone, tab or computer. I was never under this illusion in Canada as well. Regardless of security protocols I put on my android phone I knew that by granting certain permission for APPS function would override my security. This is what many people fail to understand with security on their phone. People give the permission or they can’t use the app.

We are all hoping that when Skype needs permission to access the microphone and camera and contact list it is only for the function of using the app. But the reality is they have the permission and can access the mic and camera anytime they want without notifying you. So What? Skype is famous and has legal agreements. And that’s why we don’t worry about Skype spying on us.

But what about those apps that are new companies that seem to open and close as the sun rises and sets. Why does the cool conversion app that converts pretty much any unit need access to my contact list, camera, photos, messages, call log etc..? What does that have to do with 1 foot in centimeters? Why does WeChat (world’s most popular messaging app, mostly because 1 billion people in China use it) need complete access to every aspect of my phone. Not one permission is left out. And 1 billion people agreed to this in China plus the tens of thousands of non Chinese outside of china using it. Without a doubt Chinese feds have back door access same as western feds have similar access. Their lack of security puts us all at risk too.

The truth is people give up the security because they didn’t realize they were giving it up. They are so concerned with government spying on them they don’t realize that private businesses and corporations have all the same information you are trying to hide from the government. BUT they happily gave it to private entities that don’t have to answer for what they do with it simply to play game on your phone for free.

Every time you log into you favourite game all those permissions update by sending info back to the game server. That means when you log into, choose any free game, your locations, and possibly who were near you, text messages, who called you, who you called etc will be sent to their servers. Somehow it’s vital to the game function that they know where you went and who you spoke with since your last log in. And don’t think that hidden pictures are hidden from apps you gave permission to. They can access that too.

But if the government is spying people are screaming OMG Big Brother. It’s already done and you know the Corps control the governments so it doesn’t matter.

That’s why I bought the Blackberry DTEK50. The world most secure phone.

I know your saying but it’s Android so it’s hackable through apps and online activity. This is not true for Blackberry ever in their history. The DTEK50 has an Android Blackberry hybrid Operating system. It also has special unique chips in each phone that override Android commands such apps accessing data.

With this phone I can use apps, grant them permissions and STILL KEEP the DATA its wants PRIVATE. It’s really cool. I can see when apps I’m not using activate and it warns me of what it’s attempting to do. Sometimes the apps are just updating other times, 2 times, WeChat accessed my microphone when I wasn’t using the phone. I got a message telling me. My Experia NEVER did this, it really made wonder how many times over the years it was on and I wasn’t aware.

I know Blackberry is failing in device sales. That sucks. They have amazing security technology in their devices that beats all the others combined.

The world begged for an Android phone that could do everything the DTEK50 does.
And then they bought the iPhone 7 because they needed to collect the whole damn set.

I know Samsung makes the same claim but BB has decades of experience and private servers. BB still sells security to business all over the world that is why BB will never fail totally but as for handheld devices it obviously wasn’t keeping up fast enough. The new Samsung phone seems to have a Self destruct that can’t be controlled cause the user to catch fire and get chemical burns.

Blackberry is like Whisky and Crispy Fried Bacon.

I think Blackberry deserves some credit.

I know for long time their phones couldn’t keep up with Apple or Samsung but today the DTEK50 operates the same as any Android but Securely. It has all the functions you would expect from a top notch Android or Apple OS with added chips to make it nearly invincible unless you have the device in your hands and are using hardware to crack it. Yes, it’s made in China just like everything else. But the chips use the highest encryption of any mobile device codes that connect through the BB servers that ensures it has not be tampered with the moment you activate it the first time. The chips are the key to security the moment it is built rather something you activate once the phone is turned on the first time.

”FIPS 140-2 Compliant Full Disk Encryption: U.S. government-grade encryption protects your private information, like personal pictures or banking info, if your phone is lost or stolen.“
http://blogs.blackberry.com/2016/07/blackberrys-android-devices-such-as-the-new-dtek50-are-the-most-secure-on-the-market-heres-why-video-pics/

I also pay for a VPN.

Read this article for a fair comparison of Samsung Galaxy 7 vs Blackberry DTEK.
http://www.techradar.com/news/phone-and-communications/mobile-phones/we-challenged-samsung-and-blackberry-over-their-android-security-claims-1326825

Candy Crush will never know when you using the toilette again.

I hope they focus on selling their technology to the bigger brands so it can continue to be a trusted and respected Canadian company. Imagine your favourite Android device with Blackberry Security. Not to forget all the cute Thai and Indonesian girls that suddenly added me to BBM. Guess BBM is still a thing there. ^^

Now that’s something you’d buy! I just like this phone it doesn’t matter who offered it.

Still a great phone Blackberry.

(please click pictures for photo credits)

Sort:  

Governments around the world are slowly taking people's privacy. We need to raise awareness for that fact. Thanks for your post.
I also recommend usind open source apps whenever you can to avoid backdoors

true. very true.

Businesses are handed the same info and use it against you way more often than the government does.
With the right apps on your phone they can potentially know everything.

blackberry, interesting. i think https://copperhead.co/android/ is state of the art right now.

I looked at that. Thats really cool. Blackberry says they added special chips to ensure the software can't be tampered unless your use hardware.

What about Blackphone 2 ? I'm pretty sure it blows the blackberry out of the water. Hope I didn't make you regret your purchase lol.

I have never heard of Blackphone 2 or 1. hehe I will google it.

I don't regret my purchase. It does everything I need it too and then some. And even though there are other phones that offer comparable security I am confident the DTEK50 is doing its job for me.

I just wanted to let people know that even if bb is dying it does still offer good technology. They just went wrong somewhere which sucks.

Ah. i found. it looks like pretty cool phone. $799 more expensive then 450 CAD i paid for the dtek50.
They claim to be the first but I doubt that. I bb has been doing this for at least a decade.

Dtek comes with specilzed chip that protect the phone from the moment you start it the first time.
Blackphone 2 doesn't mention any special chips, or i could not find mention in the specs at least, and that is where the dtek50 is stronger i'd say.

But i am no expert and the Dtek50 ffers enough security for what i need for the price i paid.

The Blackphone 2 does look sexy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51