You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Securely Storing Data Backups on the STEEM Blockchain

in #encryption6 years ago (edited)

"roll your own" is universally one of the worst pieces of advice in the encryption space. If you don't believe me, ask anyone familiar with that space or just look at history.

I'm all for one-time pads, but you're still having to secure the "password" or the key you used. If my password manager was every compromised, then I'd be screwed anyway. Files that don't need to be stored in a password manager because they aren't super important secrets can be encrypted and stored just fine on a blockchain. Again, in this case, there was nothing super secret about the data, other than putting it out there in plaintext would be kind of silly (and meaningless to others).

Sort:  

I can see your point, as I have seen people "encrypt" credit card data by adding an extra number to the end of them. (In a large charity)

However, from my brain type, encryption algorithms are pretty straight forward to me. And how computers implement them is very straight forward to me.

So, maybe my statement is not for anyone other than me, and people I like to talk to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48