My First Post!

in #en-us7 years ago

Hi again! This one is going to be longer than my other art posts, so bear with me.

So the way this will work most of the time, is I'll upload two pictures per post. A digital one and a traditional one. They'll both be the same subject matter with possible slight variations.

This is because if I do digital art, I almost always base it off a traditional piece. This is because staring at a blank screen scares me vs staring at a blank piece of paper is way less scary.

To me anyways.

Under the picture I'll list the materials I used, maybe guestimate how long it took, maybe talk about a new method I tried, pinpoint my mistakes, etc.

That being said let's jump into this:

I thought I'd do this one first in the halloween spirit (the best holiday).

image

I used my iPad Pro and the Autodesk Sketchbook app to make this, because it's the app I'm most familiar with. For the stylus I used a cheap stylus/pen combo and my finger.

Most of my digital drawings will be on my iPad because Photoshop and the likes lag really bad on my laptop, so until I get a Mac (which I don't see in my foreseeable future), I'll be using my iPad.

My favorite creative apps so far are:
Autodesk Sketchbook
Picsart
Recolor
PS Express
And Procreate

And can go more in depth about these in the comments, but for now I'll leave it to youtube.

image

I drew this fresh out of my Drawing 2 class (and first year of college) at the beginning of May. I was honestly impressed with it, and it takes a lot for me to be impressed with myself (I set the bar super high for myself).

For this one I used sharpies and acrylics on 9×12 Canson mixed media paper (the best paper imo). I am probably one of the few artists who adores sharpies and hates painting. 😂

I mixed black and white paint for the background (painting was faster and smoother than trying color it with a Gray sharpie) and this piece as a whole probably took a day of nonstop drawing (I'm a slow drawer).

Phew! This took a minute to type. 😅

I will into greater detail of anything you want to know in the comments! ☺

Thank you for making it this far! I pinky promise my other posts won't be this long!

Bye for now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53