For Abigail (spoken word freestyle poem, in soulful hip hop style)

in #en-us7 years ago (edited)

The eyes got me- got me shook,
Fell in love with a single look,
She stole my heart-yeah it got took,
Wrapped around her little finger- she could read me like a book,
The minute we met she changed my whole outlook,
But in the wild lifestyle I stayed and partook,
The outcome was quite textbook,
Down the wrong path my life took- yeah I strayed,
Still- to this day,
I regret the time I just gave away,
The childhood I watched fade away,
As I continued to party my days away,
Livin' by the night code,
And everything thing I was doing was far from right though,
Now as I age,
I watch my grandkid grow- and as my hair turns grey,
I wish I would've stayed,
Had a lot of love to display,
And built a bond as we played,
Taught her things- like A,B,C's and 1,2,3's,
Wanted to be there for her to hug when she was getting teased,
Wish I could've protected her from getting beat,
Now I'm on my knees,
Praying, pleading, begging please,
Watch over her and help her get though these-
Difficulties,
Help her grow- branch out like trees,
Hope she stays positive,
Even when things seem crappy,
Yes, yes, Abby,
I've always loved you madly,
I'll always be your daddy,
I'm right here if you need to grab me,
And I love it when you're laughing,
Be free, don't let the anger and pain trap thee,
Believe in yourself- don't let life get distracting,
Have faith kiddo, everything is interacting,
Always in your best interest actually,
You can have anything you dream practically,
But sometimes it takes some practicing,
To re-route your neural pathways,
And there will be days that make you feel a bit crazed,
But it always passes-just a phase,
When you fall don't let it jade your gaze,
In the long run positivity always pays,
And on those days when it seems life couldn't be more of a maze,
Please try to remember this phrase:
"You are the sunshine on my cloudy days,
You make me happy when my skies are grey,
Believe in yourself and watch the hurdles fade away",
And I still remember the first time I saw your face- like it was yesterday,
And I've always known that you'll do things that are great,
Just sometimes we have to wait,
And work on getting our pain to fade,
So when the doors open we're not blinded by a constant haze,
Unable to see the good that comes our way,
And above everything,
I love you and think about you everyday!

Sort:  

Good work, well done, I like this.

Thank you, when it comes from the heart, it is always good imho

Congratulations @masonmchl80! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @masonmchl80! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62261.29
ETH 2614.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56