Learn which bridges to cross and which bridges to burn..

in #emyleethai6 years ago (edited)

I just read an article where Oprah says "One of the hardest things in life to learn is which bridges to cross and which bridges to burn." https://www.inc.com/jeff-haden/oprah-winfrey-says-1-decision-separates-people-who-find-success-and-happiness-from-those-who-only-dream.html?fbclid=IwAR2eaWVW4Mtq_3L5-gILRFm5b0TRqiiCf38UKB3RU786NsdunuoLezqKSM4

I totally agree.

I've met a fair share of people in my personal and professional life. Some business partners that I end up being friends with. Some friends that I know I can never work with. All kind of people. But in today's age, it's hard to find a good, genuine, honest people that you can trust to build a relationship with. Everyone looks successful, rich, popular, until you find out they're not. I'm not saying these people are bad people, but ego, peer pressure and social media has made it very difficult for most people to be.. themselves.

I believe one of my strength is knowing how to read people, or read through people. I've met billionaire-wannabe who turned out to be a scammer, and I've met quiet humble person who turned out to be a billionaire. Reading and weeding out people is one thing, then building a relationship with them is another. To nurture and build any relationship, that takes time. If the relationship blossom, everyone's happy. If the relationship goes downhill, well, yeah.

I am pretty stubborn, in terms of I think that my decision is always right. I mean, I used to date someone who cheated on me 3x, but then turn around, I would forgive them because I love them so much. But in business, if someone cheat you once, and you let them do it 2 more times, you/your company will end up bankrupt! Over the years, my tolerance for bullshit has decreased, so if someone cheats on me once, they're dead to me. I would not even bother texting back. So back to what Oprah was saying.. it's okay to burn bridges, especially those that will collapse on its own anyways.. don't get attached to a person, a thing or a project.. that is a set up for disappointment. There will ALWAYS be better bridges.

Connect with Emylee Thai:
Email: [email protected]
LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/emyleethai/
Personal: www.emyleethai.com
Company: www.orionmodern.com



http://emyleethai.com/536-2/

Sort:  

Congratulations @emyleethai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60637.64
ETH 2405.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60