Close Up: Bonz Manifest

in #empowermeeos5 years ago (edited)

If you go through the rankings of Dapps on EOS, you'd see that Prospectors is topping that list. Fortunately, prospectors is one of EME's partners and we caught up with their External Communications Manager, Bonz Manifest, to hear his thoughts on certain issues. Enjoy!

IMG_20190828_201504_003.jpg

Bonz Manifest

So, Bonz, could you tell us a little about yourself?

Well, I’m an artist and glass blower by trade. I’m the father of two girls, and live on a farm in upstate New York. I spend most of my time making art, and chilling with my family. I'm a big fan of live music and the jam band scene. I love learning about Blockchain, emerging technologies, decentralized apps etc and basically everything happening on EOS. I’ve recently started working with Prospectors, a new game on the EOS blockchain, and really love playing the game and being involved with the community.

IMG_20190828_155725_742.jpg

a picture of Bonz doing glasswork

So what's prospectors about and when did you learn about it?

Well, Prospectors is the first of its kind economic strategy game on the EOS blockchain. There's an entire in game economy that's based around the premise of the 19th century gold rush. What makes it so exciting is that the gold you mine in the game is all tied to a cryptocurrency and has a real world dollar value. So, all the activities from mining, to making tools and supplies, cutting wood, gathering stone , it's all traded in the marketplace for Gold, the in-game currency. I love the sense of community that the game enables . I've made friends and worked with people from all over the world. I've been interested in the game since I first heard about it back in 2017.

1567020427058.jpg

Credit: Prospectors

How did you come to be involved with the Prospectors project?

So I've been following the project for some time and I participated in all the beta tests of the game. I was helping the team out with some editing and was eventually offered a position as the external communications manager. I'm still active in the community and I'm actively playing the game.

The game is starting to gain real wide acceptance. In fact, the last time I checked, it was listed as number ONE among EOS Dapps. How do you feel about this?

I knew the game had potential, but it is so cool to see it growing like this. I really feel that the game is just getting started. As EOS improves and it becomes easier to on-board new users, the game will continue to grow.

Are there any game updates or developments in store?

Well, the devs have been making constant updates since the game has started. It's technically still in beta on the EOS mainet, and will continue to evolve and grow leading up to the "official" launch. The map will be expanded and there are countless upgrades and new features in the works. We actually just got a new resource in the game, coffee which has the community "buzzing" (laughs ) no pun intended. . . and there is so much more to come

How did you hear about EmpowermeEOS and what do you think about the program?

IMG_20190828_201915~2.jpg

EME is another project I've followed for some time, and learned about it through the general EOS community. I really love what they are doing.

You're one of the early sponsors of EmpowermeEOS. What made you decide to support EmpowermeEOS?

As soon as I learned about how they are empowering young people and educating them about blockchain, I knew I wanted to be involved with sponsoring a student .

Prospectors is partnering up with EmpowermeEOS to empower African Youths. What influenced this decision?

1567004323181.jpg
Source

Well, because both of these projects are very important to me, it seemed like a natural fit to try and bring them together. EME is educating people about what blockchain technology can do, and Prospectors game is a perfect example of what can be achieved. I brought the idea of sponsoring some students and the team loved the idea. I was so happy to be able to facilitate this partnership and get some student started in the game with some game assets to start their journey.

What's your advice to students of EmpowermeEOS? Any tips to help them along the way in their EOS journey?

My advice to the students of the EME program is to keep learning about EOS and stay involved with the community. There’s so many things happening all the time within the space, but find projects that are addressing the issues you are passionate about, and then get involved.



Thanks for reading. Connect with EmpowermeEOS via the following mediums:

Our Website:

https://empowermeeos.org

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/empowermeeos

Telegram:

t.me/empowermeeos

Instagram:

https://instagram.com/empowermeeos

Facebook:

https://facebook.com/empowermeeos

Email:

[email protected]

Steemit

https://steemit.com/empowermeeos

3HaJVw3AYyXBD5Md5tUD9YKkzGo1eoR2RP1hYxRaFr2FrWqcRzFw4JUfNjha5sywxFtkg3YTx8LfjM9sV71VKQBf9sURgffKgCzBSd8.png

Written by Owolabi Jeremy,
EmpowermeEOS Community Manager

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59