College Education... Worth it or worthless?

in #employment6 years ago (edited)

Hi, all. This is my first blog post using steemit, so I thought I would start by talking about something that is relative to what is going on in my life.

Recently, I have been wondering if I chose the right path in life in terms of my career. I have a Bachelor's degree in Public Health and went on to gain a Master's degree in Health Administration. This is the path I chose many years ago. I felt that this would give me the best opportunity for success in healthcare, affording me a life of comfort and security.

Unfortunately, it has been an absolute nightmare finding a job in my field. Currently, I am working at a large pharmaceutical company as a contractor working in a business role with in a drug discovery group. I obtained my Master's degree while in this role, and believed it would be easy to find a better job once I graduated. Six months has passed and I am still here.

I have seen others with lesser degrees, or even no degree at all, gain worthwhile employment with ease, while I am lucky to even get an interview. I have had my resume critiqued and I feel very good about it, so I am aghast as to why I gain little attention.

Is this a situation that many go through? I feel as if I am falling behind and it is discouraging. I would love to read stories of others who have been in a similar situation or know someone in a similar situation and advise on how they were able to change their fortune. I believe the best way to make progress is through collaboration with others, so I would greatly appreciate and welcome all comments and advice.

Thank you for time.

-sgcollege-degree.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome scottknowsstuff !!!
So glad you started posting and joined steemit ! Can't wait to read more from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56