A Recruiter Changed My Entire Life and Career: Here's How...

10357185_10152921247807685_6863066768238405806_n.jpg

I am two days away from my next big move. You see, I am one of those “digital nomads”-a person who travels the world while working from their laptop with only a backpack of simple possessions. In the past five years I have had the great privilege of living and working in Malaysia, Thailand, Australia, New Zealand, Colombia, Indonesia, Costa Rica, and Japan to name a few.

I simply love being a recruiter. I love watching people light up when they have found that perfect dream job. There is nothing more rewarding than receiving an email from a past client that reaches out to you to let you know how much their new role has changed their life and their career. Conversely, companies rise and fall based on the quality of the people that lead projects and therefore finding the perfect fit for a company and watching that company rise to new exciting heights brings me so much pride and joy.

Every time I start to pack my bag and make my next move I love to reflect on the adventures and memories from each place I have experienced. However, this time feels a bit different. As I reflected on how I ever came to live this amazing lifestyle that I am so grateful for...I remembered what started it all. About 8 years ago I was out of work and looking for a change. I had just returned from six years abroad working in International Development and was spiritually and emotionally burnt out. (not to mention being shot in the back by a gas grenade during a protest in Bolivia...but that's a story for another day.) I wanted a change from the rough aid worker life and someone suggested that I go to see a recruiter. My first thought was...a headhunter? But, i'm not computer programmer or corporate big shot how could they do anything for me? However, I was determined to explore new opportunities and therefore suited up with ten resumes in hand.27500736_10154931877781537_8448284965089689122_o.jpg

Over the next two days I visited and registered with about eight different recruiters. About five of the offices I got stopped at the door by young gatekeeper telling me to “just apply on their website” Even thought that took the wind out from me, I pushed on until I was met by a recruiter who was as amazing as he was tall. He sat me down and went over my entire career and life story. He was personal, intimate, authentic, and asked amazing questions like “what would your dream job look like?” and “what's a deal breaker for you in the workplace?” I was amazed he took the time to get so personal and left feeling at least I made a personal connection that day.

About a week later, I received a call back from him telling me he had found me an amazing opportunity in this brand new Youtube based tech company. At first, I thought did this guy even read my resume? I am not a tech guy, nor did I study anything to do with programming or business. (remember I was the hippie aid worker) He reassured me that they were looking for someone who could “wear many hats” and someone who had worked in NGO’s who were resource strapped was someone a “startup” needed. I have to admit, I was broke and desperate at the time and thought “what's the worst thing that can happen?” and I went for the interview, nailed it, and was hired.

Over the next three years that company went from about 20 employees to 400 and with offices globally. I kept taking on my responsibilities, continued getting promoted, was transferred to Barcelona, and finished when they were bought by one of the largest media companies in the world.

I learned more then any MBA program by working alongside such talented and driven people. It was from this I decided to start my own company, move to Bali, and start living this amazing digital nomad life.

Now that I travel the world as a Recruitment Consultant I get to change people’s lives like this every single day!

The point of this story is most people do not realize what recruiters do and how much we can help have a giant impact on your life and career. If you're feeling stuck, overwhelmed, burnt out, or just lost a recruiter is your new best friend. It may take some time to find the right recruiter or company but when you do you will open up so many doors that you never knew existed.

32084220_10155146011921537_5465578924790513664_n.jpg

Sort:  

@brbgoingforawalk, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67319.79
ETH 2629.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67