Relentless

in #emotions6 years ago (edited)

Relentless.

That word stuck with me the whole of today. From the moment I was awake till the moment after I got into an accident and had to fork out more money I did not have to spare. I was partly sure what the word was so I check it on Google dictionary. The adjective of it meant ‘unceasingly intense’. Synonym of it was words like persistent and unstoppable. What was I relentless about?

I was relentless about a few things. One in particular was the hardest and I am sure if anybody in my shoes would feel the same doom and gloom. Well, maybe not doom but definitely gloom.

I was going to try to look at the brighter side of things as best as I can.

pexels-photo-208165.jpeg

This meant that trying my utmost best to find something to be thankful or grateful for. Like this morning when people interrupted my rest as I struggled last night with severe pain from my illness, I could have chosen to be annoyed and get mad. But what good will that do? As much as they were relentless in letting me rest, I chose to wake up and still love these people and treat them nicely. Or in the evening, I got into an accident and my car was not in a good shape, I chose to be thankful that the car still runs and hope that the engine or anything major was affected. I also secretly wonder if this was just another opportunity that was given to me to blessed another person which is the panel beaters. Maybe they were praying for some work and needed some cash. I was relentless in trying to find some good out of the pain and struggles. What good does it do?

Well, for one it makes us more selfless and brings out something that others see as amazing. It also gives us the ability to make sense of things sometimes. Even if it does not, your ‘oh well’ could prevent many diseases namely high blood pressure, heart attack or other mental illnesses which aren’t pleasant. I am not declaring that being relentless in finding something to be positive does not make you feel lousy but it is a start to a bigger picture which will be amazing if you step back and see how far you have been in life or how strong you really are. Acknowledging that ‘yes, it is bad but….’ Do not stop there! Keep painting the canvas.

Imagine your life is a big blank piece of canvas that cannot be replaced of erased and every so often someone throws splatters of paint on your canvas while you are painting. Besides turning around and stabbing the person in the eyes with your brush which I do not recommend, you could be relentless by using those splatters and turn it into part of your artwork instead of stopping and grumble or painting over the same splatter trying to cover it. You try to make it another beautiful masterpiece while incorporating the splatters. Maybe just maybe, you might be painting the next award winning abstract art that is amazing to everyone who sees it.

Being relentless is in our DNA and we have to learn to use it through going processes. Babies as they learn to walk, they will keep falling, it would hurt, bruise and make them cry; but will they just end up getting back up and trying again. Sometimes we need to be motivated correctly. I mentioned correctly as in some of us turn to things or the wrong type of people for the occasion. I know people who turn to alcohol or cigarettes when something goes wrong. They claim that it calms them or make them forget their sorrows. There is the wrong type of people as well who skid around your issues and mock your lack of ability. Sometimes all you need is a pat on the back with the words “Hang in there, It’s going to be ok. Let us get through this together” uttered. This is the correct type of motivation which I am referring to. It’s ok to feel like you have run out of bright sides, that when these motivators could help. Seek wisely. If you do not have one now, be relentless in finding someone you can look up to or adventure this life with.

img_20180318_185545.jpg

Being relentless in going through hard things is part of your human survival guide. Do not give up this good fight. You mold your character through being relentless. Fight well. Run the race well. Do not give up being relentless in looking for the bright side. Have a little faith that all will turn out well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46