You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: RABBIT and MAD WORLD - PURE EMOTIONS - READ while LISTEN

in #emotions6 years ago

Love the movie 'Donnie Darko' and Gary Jules' version of the song. I'm glad that you knew it was originally a Tears for Fears song. I wasn't aware of that for several years, the original sounds so off to me after hearing the Gary Jules version so much. Either way, nice and informative little compilation here.

Sort:  

hahaha, yeh, I grew up with Tears for Fears, and their version is quite typical sound of that 80s band! Much much quicker and all in all making it less emotional imho. Although I do like the original version by Tears for Fears, the Gary one I prefer. What you think of the Kalkbrenner remix?

One of the funny aspects of this that Tears For Fears says the cover has influenced the way they perform the song now. I read once that now they play it much slower to be more in line with Gary Jules' version. It's interesting to see a cover song affect the original artist that way. Also, the Kalkbrenner remix is pretty cool. Definiately one of the better remixes I've heard of this.

Yeh indeed, but back in the days, when Tears for Fears released this song, the way they approach music was in the fast side. Anyway, indeed, different artists have different ways of looking at the same thing, and that is why I really like remixes what happens a lot in the electronic dance music segment; You can get really interesting results by someone else having a go at some original track.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88