Someone Close To Me Has Expressed The Desire To End His Life.

in #emergency7 years ago

images.jpeg

Someone close to me has expressed the desire to end their life due to depression. I did my very best to express how much I care, how others care for him, and how he should consider the implications of how it will impact his family. It really didn't do much good. He initiated the conversation which I believe is a good thing because it expresses the desire to confide in someone, but he is also under the influence of alcohol and drugs, so I'm worried. I really don't know what else I should do. If anyone would give me their input, it is highly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Sort:  

Most who are serious do not talk about it, but being under the influence can cause a person to do crazy things. Ask him these four questions:

  1. How does he plan to do it
  2. Where
  3. When
  4. Why

If he can answer at least 3 of these, then you know he is serious and encourage him to get professional help. A lot talk about it just to get attention or sympathy, but you never really know for sure.

Thank you for this advice. He is doing ok, and I have been in contact with him. If I'm ever confronted by someone talking suicidal, I will remember your advice.

If someone reaches out for help when they are experiencing depression, that is what it is... a call for help. The information you provided it too vague to come to an conclusions on how to assist your friend. Talking is a way to start; meaning your friend talking about what's bothering him -and the next step is to get him to offer solutions to his problems. There are many degrees and causes of depression. If you wish to help your friend, there is a lot of information on the internet. Most people won't go to a counselor, so the more understanding you have... the better. I will also add that alcohol is a huge depressant and so long as he is drinking, your efforts may seem futile. Your story is very common, depression is wide-spread. Check on your friend often... and does his family know? What's going on there?

Yes I explained to him that the alcohol is a depressant, and being a recovering alcoholic, I'm very aware of the danger. I really don't know the magnitude of his cry for help. If it was just him in a bad mood while drunk, I don't want to alert the family and make a mountain over a mole hill. This isn't the first time someone alerted me to feeling suicidal while intoxicated. When I alerted her son, I encountered so much backlash, that it angered me for trying to help her. In this situation he said he was going to bed. So my plan was to message him in the morning, but I will feel terrible if he does something. Part of me is angry that he wanted to console in me, as selfish as that sounds, due to problems in my own life right now, I really don't need the burden of guilt if a friend kills himself, and I didn't act. This has my emotions out of wack at the moment.

My friend, if he is that serious, there would be very little you could do to prevent it. The only person you can control is yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49