1st ChallengeGordo by el TeamGordo: "Breakfast where I live" - My Entry!

in #elteamgordo7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, this is my entry for @elteamgordo's challenge! It's his first challenge and it closes on Friday (tomorrow).

Do check out the original challenge: https://steemit.com/contest/@elteamgordo/1st-challengegordo-of-el-teamgordo-breakfast-where-i-live-usd15-sbd-in-prizes.

The pictures are either taken with a Nikon D3400 or a HTC smartphone, depending on when I took it. Some are much older.

Here are some of the breakfast food I normally eat. I'm not sure how many photos I need to share but here are just a few of them:

1. Nasi Lemak


Nasi lemak can be said to be a national dish in Malaysia. If you translate "nasi lemak" directly, it means "fat rice". That's not how it's supposed to be I think, but it's a good indication that it has a lot of calories. It's not very healthy but I love it a lot. The typical nasi lemak comes with rice cooked in coconut milk (fattening), cucumbers, anchovies, nuts and sambal (chilli). It's probably why a lot of us are overweight. :P

Picture taken at Old Town Grand Melaka.

2. Chicken rice


I took the pictures on separate occasions with different cameras. Obvious difference eh. Chicken rice is commonly eaten among the Chinese here. Chicken rice is normally served with rice and chicken (duh) but the rice is not the regular rice. It's oilier than usual as it's cooked with the fat from the chicken, ginger and garlic.

However, this one here are chicken rice balls. Chicken rice balls are more common in Malacca I think. You'll find much bigger ones in Muar.

Pic taken at Hailam Kopitiam Limbongan

3. Toast and eggs


We normally have these toast with butter & kaya and soft-boiled eggs in kopitiams. Kopitiams are traditional coffee shops in Southeast Asia. It's getting lesser these days as modern generations take up different kinds of jobs. I hope this tradition doesn't stop because kopitiams are awesome for breakfast. Especially when the tea and coffee is good.

Pic taken at Genting. Not a good example, but I can't find other suitable pics.

4. Dim sum


If the Spanish have tapas, the Chinese have their dim sum. They are bite-sized portions of food that are usually served in small steamer baskets. They also have deep fried goodness.

Pic taken at Ipoh Foh San.

5. Roti canai and thosai

Roti canai. Pic taken in Merlimau.

Thosai. Pic taken at Malim.

Here comes my favorite roti canai and thosai. They are Indian in origin and I just love them. If not for health reasons, I would eat this everyday! It's normally served with curry or dhal. I like to eat it with either chicken curry, fish curry or mutton curry. A cold glass of iced tea alongside it and I'm done.

These are just a few examples of the breakfast food I eat. There's so much more especially since Malaysia is multiracial and multicultural. You'll find lots of Malay, Chinese and Indian food here, in all states.

If you're looking for international food like Japanese, Korean, Western, Middle Eastern, etc. you can mainly find them in the more developed states.

I hope you guys enjoyed the photos and thanks @elteamgordo for organizing this challenge!


As usual I appreciate all upvotes, resteems and follows.

Sort:  

fat rice.... omg.... that is really fat.... LOL... nasi lemak is nasi lemak... better... =_=|| you will scare people away with the word fat rice... muahahahaha... and then they will never ever taste the yummilicious nasi lemak liao...
my favorite breakfast... nasi lemak and dim sum!!! (^.^)/

Hahaha but it looks good so they'll probably try it. :P

hahaha... maybe...

Thanks your post is very appreciated. You are participating now! Good luck!

Wahhh :(( Reading your post gets all the little craves up in me..would kill for some authentic roti canai right now!!

This post has received a 2.14 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @howtostartablog.

oh no.. you are making me hungry again :)

It's my job to make people hungry :P

Hi, you'd been selected as a finalist of the contest here is the link. Ask your friends to vote for your entry for some extra points.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60270.38
ETH 3307.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40