Concerning Twitter.

in #elon2 years ago

image.png

I don't know meaningful things about Elon Musk beyond the basics everyone else knows. I have friends who worship him like Tony Stark's Iron Man as the embodiment of a living super hero philanthropist. I got others who see him more as an evil dictator more along the lines of Dr. Victor Von Doom.

I don't know and, honestly, I don't much care. I've never understood the cult of personality that seems to grow around billionaire techies like Steve Jobs and Bill Gates, more recently Elon Musk. But I also don't subscribe to the various conspiracy theories that often characterize the obscenely wealthy as illuminati members and evil-doers by default.

As far as I'm concerned, Elon Musk is just some loaded South African dude who likes electric cars and space travel.

But I'll say this.

If the guy actually does buy Twitter, clean up the platform and make it freer, more open platform for free expression, I will join the Elon Musk fanclub.

In my experience, Twitter definitely does need someone to clean house.

Yes. We're living in a time of misinformation and slander and hatred and all that stuff.

But such evils have always been a consequence of free expression. And, in the past as well as the present, the evil born from free expression are dwarfed by its benefits.

So, I don't know if Elon Musk's heart is in the right place or not. But if he makes Twitter a more accommodating atmosphere for free expression (as well as reinstates my account), I will applaud his efforts and join the ranks of his admirers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57