ELI 5: Why should someone invest $500 when they see people earning $5000 on a post?

in #eli58 years ago

I was thinking about investing money into Steem but I've heard that there is no purpose in investing real money after inquiring in the Poloniex troll box. I am now reaching out to ask the Steem community directly.

 I look forward to your responses!

Sort:  

Curation rewards depend on your voting power, that depends on your steem power. The more steem power you have, the more money you make by upvoting!

The more steem power you make when you vote. More steem dollars and power when you post or comment if I'm not mistaken.

I you have a good eye for writing you should go out and make a real good post

Hey @nickjames. First off, the name says it all, "TROLL box." What'd you expect in there, Mother Teresa's??
2nd, have you ever invested in anything before?

  1. Do you have debt?
  2. Can you afford to lose this money?
  3. Have you looked at all your options
  4. invest in what you know, understand and/or like
  5. Don't invest on beliefs or hopes or dreams
    8 Learn about Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power and the differences
    And Finally what you really WANT TO KNOW--
    I say put it in STEEM POWER if you are looking to invest. If you are trying to Trade, then I would put it in STEEM. BUT, that's my opinion, and if you look around enough there some who even trade steem dollars. Good luck.

You are not investing, you are donating to an experiment. If it is successful, you will be very well rewarded. Thus, only donate (invest) what you are comfortable with.

Also, your time and your treasure(content) is another way to donate to the project.

It is fun to have a passion (hobby) in life.

@magnebit, donations don't ever come back except as good karma or if enough was given away a placard/name tag on some wall.
If you put money anywhere expecting a return, then I consider that an investment. If've seen stocks wind up at $0, and that wasn't considered an experiement.

Thanks. I guess I still don't see the point if the potential exists for me to get rewarded exponentially higher for posting alone than anything I could ever afford to invest .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94