Oh NO! I missed the ELEPHANT!

in #elephant7 years ago (edited)

My destination that time was to explore deep in a jungle in Tangkahan, North Sumatra, with an Australian friend, Daniel. This area was part of Gunung Leuser National Park. The national park covering 7,927 km² in northern Sumatra, Indonesia, straddling the border of North Sumatra and Aceh provinces, a fourth portion and three-fourths portion, respectively (Wikipedia).

To get there from Lhokseumawe, Aceh, we took a van and arrived in the first stop, Stabat around 9 pm. From Stabat, we had organized a rental car to get to the inn. It took 2 hours road trip to get there and was a bit boring with the scenery offered, all only palm trees. It was a bit sad to see how the oil companies have colonialised the area for their own business, without considering the impact of cutting down the original trees, on the local environment.

We arrived in the inn about midnight, due to the condition of road, after raining. The place was good and I could feel the sensation of being in the jungle. Amazing!

Waking up in the morning, Daniel and I went for a walk around the area. We managed to visit the conservation center of elephants, talked to the rangers, and checked the schedule of trekking with elephants. All was perfectly planned.

We continued to go to a different direction and surprisingly we found this bridge. Wow, to be honest, I hadn't had gut to cross it by my own. I needed Daniel's help. Haha

image

And I could spoil my eyes and soul with this breathtaking view over the bridge. Amazing!

image
image

image

Then we managed to have a look at a few hostels around, and Daniel decided to stay in one of the hostels, whose restaurant was so cool. We could enjoy the river down under, see monkeys swinging around, and some big reptiles by the river bank. Perfect for those who love to be in a wildlife.
image

This is part of the restaurant.

image

Then we continued our journey to explore around. We crossed the river and enjoyed the water, and ups!!! I forgot my mobile phone was hiding in the pocket. God, thinking of that killed me softly. That day was the last day I could capture anything beautiful with my camera phone. Rip my camera phone! This was the last phote I took where Daniel was leading our path.

image

Shortly, Daniel could manage to meet elephants and trekking into the jungle. I couldn't, sadly. I had to go to Medan, the nearest city, to rescue my phone.

This was not an ending of a holiday I would ever expect. :(
I will go back there one day.

Sort:  

Congratulations @zainah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@zainah So much information thanks for sharing.

I'm happy to provide more information if necessary. Thanks @video-master for leaving your comment here.

Your welcome! I could provide you more information if needed @video-master. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58