Most important step in making a good drawing

in #elegance6 years ago

image

I am not really sure if this is what I wanted talking to you about.🤣 Been busy and off for a while. Got busy making some urgent commission jobs and while I was about making a new piece, I decided to get prepared by sharpening my pencil and I thought it wise to share with you why sharpening pencils this way is important.

If you watch war movies or any movie involving preparation for a war, what happens is that, The weapons are always prepared. Bullets are gathered, knives are sharpened, etc.

Now let's liken sharpening of knives to sharpening of pencils.

A pencil is a weapon to an artist. If not sharpened properly, the artist may find it difficult to battle with the drawing or may lose the battle(not making a nice drawing).

A sharp knife booast the confidence of a warrior and to an artist, the sharper the pencil, the more confidence instilled.

This is how sharp your pencil should be
It helps in shading, detailing and so on.

Sharpen a pencil this way and aee a difference
image
image

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

My grandfather always used to sharpen his pencils this way; he wasn't an artist, but I guess knew what a proper sharpened pencil looked like :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you artzone

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice one bro. Great message.

But I would have loved to see the face of your model.

Hahahaaha I will upload it soon. Has not gotten to the owner yet

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok man. Will be waiting for it.

Yea brother

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62