Phoenix Rising - Watercolour

in #elegance6 years ago

The concept of the Phoenix is one that’s all too familiar, apply it to anything and it can be seen as a universal process, the law of the living; from death comes life, from the end there is a beginning.

Take a piece of fruit for example, it’s fallen from its host tree and been left to rot and decay, composting itself back in to the soil as nutrients for the seeds it contained. How about the death of a relationship, a friend, a family member, a lover, a teacher, yourself, the end of that relationship opens up space for new relationships to grow which couldn’t have existed in previous situations, weather they’re good or bad it doesn’t matter, the process continues.

To me, the Phoenix is the epitome of this process, so I let my paint brush create one from the trees that were forced to become my tools. May it forever be captured in the moment of birth, flying to its imminent conclusion.

** Recycling stuff

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Brilliant work, @stuffing! I love the vibrant colours you used. Perfect! 😃

PS: I'd like to let you know I've selected your work to be featured on My entry to the "Pay It Forward Curation Contest"

Please keep up sharing your fantastic works!

Thank you times a billion, I’m so grateful, it was a beautiful post and you’ve opened the door to many great steemians to discover

@trincowski keeps finding great posts like this to feature. Loved your painting and seeing the step by step process.

I take my hat off and bow in gratitude, thank you :)

Beyond fantastic as usual. When are you going to show us a bad illustration / painting / drawing? :P

Oh what a fantastic idea! I have some bad ones from when I was a wee youngen, I would be more than happy to share those haha

That's striking. I love it. Do you sell these pieces or are they just filling up your house?

Thank you :D
Let’s just say I paint faster than I sell, I spend my time honing the painting skill and less to no time actually displaying it... aaah a tough balance to achieve

Beautiful work ! Love the pose of the phoenix and the plumage is done so beautifully <3 And I agree, the phoenix is almost a universal symbol of death and rebirth and I also liked how you present the step by step <3 Very lovely post !

Thank you, I was going for the ‘flying from the smoke and ashes’ look. I find it hard to get the glory of a full wing span in a composition without the bird looking skewed or too perfect, hence the weird angle

That is really nice!

Aaaah appreciated :) thanks choogirl

Wow! This is really beautiful! I love how watercolor creates that fluidity behind the phoenix!

Thank you :)
You’re right, this wouldn’t have come out with the same effect if it was done in acrylic or oils. I love watercolour for its fluidity and lack of self control haha

haha "lack of self control" @stuffing!! That's awesome 😎

What a beautiful drawing of a phoenix! All the colours, the variation of red hues and the dynamic lines denoting its speed and the clouds that it soars through, excellently illustrated!

Thank you scrawly, your critique is a piece of art in itself! Glad you like it :D

I love this painting @stuffing... the colouring and the phoenix itself is very well done! It's a powerful painting :) great job!

Yaaay thank you anouk.nox, the best bit was laying down the strong orange colour on the wing then dragging the colour off in to the slip stream, soo much fun watching it come to life

Hello! Hahaa thank you :)

AAHYES!! I was wondering where the gif master went. One miiiillion dollars

This is so beautiful stuffing!!! The art, the words.... I need to just keep soaking it in. Very powerful!

Thank you :D I deliberated over the blue bit but I think it fits nicely. I was thinking of Harry Potter the whole time I was painting it :P aaand Dumbledore

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60132.86
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51