A Tribute to Klimt

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

Years ago, 20 to be exact, I painted this canvas for my sister, who adores Gustav Klimt and his work. I had some metallic pigments that I had never used, given to me by an old gentleman 30 years ago, so I decided to finally use them, mostly the copper, silver and gold, on this canvas. It's done in oil and measures 90x90 cm..

I admire Klimt's work very much, especially how he used color, his naturalistic themes and patterns, and how he was influenced by Japanese Art and Culture, especially their watercolors, wood-block prints and use of over-lapping patterns.

I don't admire so much, the mystical or symbolic themes, but technically, he was a master.

Lately, I have been cleaning it, retouching and redoing some areas, that I'm thinking in changing. Now, I suppose it is a "work in progress", or it was always that, in the first place.

Hope you like and I'll post it when it is "finished"...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41