An Abstract Flower Painting : A Trial and Error Experiment

in #elegance6 years ago

It turned out to be a little messy at the end of this session. I really wanted to make an abstract rose or any kind of flower using acrylic paint. It's my first time to try this subject and style. Painting flowers is not really my forte but it would not hurt if i explore something I'm not into.


IMG_20180624_204551.jpg

I want to share with you how I create this piece.

Materials:

  • Acrylic Paint ( Mauve, Titanium White and Green )
  • 2 Flat Brushes of Different Size
  • Water
  • 3D Paint (Purple Pearl)

Steps

IMG_20180610_105905.jpgIMG_20180610_110544.jpg
I prepare the canvas by stretching it on a flat surface/ board and painted it with gesso.After gesso has dried, i then added a purple tint to make the background and let it dry again .
IMG_20180610_113738.jpgIMG_20180610_115810.jpg
Then I began applying strokes on my first flower. It did get well at the beginning but as I add more petals it seemed like a distorted flower and not good at sight. But since my goal is an abstract flower, I continued doing thisI add more flowers and then leaves on the painting and tried to make a bouquet out of it. I blended purple and white to have a dimension of which is which.
IMG_20180610_211803.jpgIMG_20180610_212918.jpg
And then more leaves, I guess, I failed again at this point because the green and other colors do not complement wellSo I had this idea to cover up the mistakes I did. And then it all ruined again
IMG_20180610_215623.jpgIMG_20180610_214316.jpg
So I have to start over again from the petals. This time, I made it more free flowing and I did not mind that it should look geometrical or more cubic.I used the same color set and applied it with more water. I almost covered all of the background. I took deeper and darker color on the middle of the flower so it could appear more 3D for me.
IMG_20180624_204538.jpgIMG_20180624_203009.jpg
I add more details by putting more white on the petals. I finally used the 3Dimensional Paint for Leeho, to make the outline of each flowers. I hope it looked like a rose, an abstract roseFor the leaves, I used a narrower flat brush and used different shades of green. I wanted the leaves and flowers to be separated at first glance.
IMG_20180624_204538.jpgIMG_20180624_204551.jpg
And It's all done for now. I thought that this is way more abstract than the first step i did on this painting.

I plan to retouch this piece a little bit soon. I'll update you after it's done.

Thank you for dropping by !!!
Have a nice day

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Hello @aalagenesis, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
zn4vii7db2.jpg

Amazing work!

Posted using Partiko Android

Lovely brushstrokes and such bold colour as well.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

You have been featured on @artzone.

Courtesy of @gbija

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44