Raspberry Pi, the king of DIY electronics.

in #electronics7 years ago (edited)

Do you want to create a responsive mirror, that greets you when you wake up with the latest news and the weather? Or do you want a portable old school gaming console? If you answered yes to any of these, then the Raspberry Pi might be for you.

The Raspberry Pi is a small computer, that runs on the operating system called debian. It often gets used to build electronic projects, such as the retropie, which is a program that can be downloaded on the pi that allows for loading and playing of games. The retropie even support multiple players, as there normally are 4 USB ports, where ps3, ps4, xbox360 and xbox1 controllers can be used. Its a fun project that will make you learn more about electroncs and programming, but it does require patience, and a bit of technical knowledge.

Raspberry-Pi-3-Flat-Top.jpg
Source: wikipedia

The sheer number of projects possible can easily intimidate, but once you decide what project to make, it will be really easy with all the guides, that carefully describe the process.

Another very popular project is a mirror display, where it functions as a mirror, while still displaying information like weather, date, time and even greets you.

And the best of it is that all of these mentioned projects, are just the tip of the iceberg.

Sort:  

I really should buy a raspberry pi, and have a go, and see what I can do on it. I did want to setup a home server, so perhaps a pi would be a good thing to have!

Is this something a beginner can use to learn or do you need to be pretty advanced?

I set up my project with no prior knowledge, by looking at guides on the internet.

I use mine as a cheap linux server, kodi box and occasionally for messing around with components on breadboards using a breakout board. I'm planning on making a switch using a nodemcu wifi module that will resume the last thing I was watching on the pi.

Wow that actually sounds pretty awesome, im only a beginner myself, so i just set up a retropie that i play on occasionally.

Are we going to see you do some projects with a Pi?

Hey man, i have been a bit busy so i haven't gotten around to look at the comments in some time, so excuse me.

As my knowledge about the pi is very limited, and i myself look at a lot of tutorials to set up the project, i can't always explain what im doing.

I might make some posts about the pi later though, when i learn enough to be able to actually fully understand what im doing. :)

Sounds good! I am interested in learning and teaching as well, keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69