HDMI to VGA, converter for my Raspberry Pi

in #electronics7 years ago (edited)

Greetings! Yesterday I received a package with Aliexpress, it was an HDMI to VGA converter, I need it to connect Raspberry Pi to my obsolete monitor, which has only one VGA input. I know that a raspberry can be remotely managed via SSH, VNC, XRDP or even via UART. But the initial setting is more convenient for me to do in graphical mode, especially in the perspective of a project where I need to use the GUI. By the way, this adapter is suitable for any device where there is a need to convert a video signal to VGA. I suggest not a big review of this device.

In the kit itself adapter, wire with jack-3.5 mm plugs and a USB-A type cable on microUSB, their length is 30 cm. I did not have any complaints about the quality of the wires and the case.

The converter has a VGA connector with a thread under the fasteners, which is very thoughtful. On the back of the HDMI (male) cable.

Since VGA, in contrast to HDMI, can not transmit sound, its output is carried out separately. Also, the adapter itself needs 5V to work, it uses power from the USB connector. By the way, this voltage can be supplied from any power source, if there is no desire to occupy the USB port.

For me, as an electronics engineer, the most interesting is inside. Carefully disassemble the body, it was on the latches, however, like any technique that is now being produced. Either latches or glue, it is possible option when, and then and another.

If you look closely, you see the AG6200 chip, it is responsible for converting the video signal. Just below the "cockroach" on 10 legs (344C) is a 24-bit digital-to-analog converter (DAC) with a frequency of 192 kHz, so it sounds be good.

From the back ... ah! The flux is not cleaned, the solder is rather careless, the red wire hangs in the air. Apparently someone saving the planet, cut the "red" wire =) After seeing the pinout of the HDMI connector, this wire does not carry a functional load.

Now I check in work. The converter supports resolution up to Full HD 1920x1080, it was tested at work. Now I'm happy that I can use Raspberry pi and make new projects for you!

Sincerely, @gleb-jeglov aka Evgeny!

Sort:  

This is some nice stuff, reminds me of how I used to connect my xbox360 to a beamer and get sound via my home cinema system lol

Yes, my friend, that's it =)

This post has received a 0.16 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Would you please share a link for this converter on Aliexpress?
How much it costs?
I bought similar thing for ~1k3 RUR on local market few weeks ago.

Что я могу сказать... Молодец.
Но я всё же скажу - нафига? ;)
Старые моники надо применять для каких-то таких работ, в которых не нужно качество монитора. Или заменять их.

Монитор стоит на рабочем столе, где я слесарничаю и паяю, мне жалко туда новый покупать. Тем более этот моник не так уж и плох, хоть и старенький. Хотя, были бы лишние деньги, купил бы новый =)

Да, я уже потом подумал, что он у тебя на твоем специальном рабочем столе стоит.
У меня же работа связана именно с компом. Целый день пялиться в монитор.
Денег лишних не бывает. :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

That's nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67