Installed a cell phone booster.

in #electronics7 years ago

IMG_4555.PNG


I just installed this LTE 4G signal booster. My father in law asked me if I could put this in for him before we are gone. Well I am not one just to throw something up without researching it.

So........

I started with google to read reviews and customer installs so I could determine the best placement. My father in law cannot use his phone at all inside his house so I wanted to be sure I got the best signal.

After my research most said place high above the house to get the best signal. So I placed it in front of the house and before I did any mounting I wanted to test it. You can see in the picture it's up there.

image.jpg

The signal gain a was not enough inside the house. Only 1 bar was registering on the phone. That was enough to make a call but that's it. I just could not settle for that.

I then decided to use a 1 and 1/2 inch pvc pipe and mount the antenna on it. It would rise above the house and grab more signal. That gave the same results. I moved it to different positions around the house to see if I could get a better signal but no luck.

Finally I had an idea. They have two satellite dishes installed on their house. I wondered what the signal would be like. So I took the antenna and put it on the dish and bingo two bars of LTE plus I had the ability to use data now.

image.jpg

image.jpg

Once I had that part figured out then it was now time to determine placement in the house. The best spot was in the kitchen.

image.jpg

This worked out really well for the best signal boost. Now I must hide the cable on the outside and inside.

What I decided to do was run the outside cable in a wall joint and hide the inside cable with paint to make it match. That turned out great.

So what did i learn ? Do your homework and research before you install any type of booster. Following the directions to install at the highest point did not work in this case. I don't know why installing at the back of the house on the satellite dish worked. The cell tower is in the front of the house. I can say that once you find the signal it works well. We have 3 cells phones working inside the house using data without a problem.

Have a great day and

  • let it grow
    beardo
Sort:  

Your kitchen pic didn't load bro.

Ok I will redo!

I let it grow... every day. But then I trim, because of the hairs. @ironshield

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77