Steemit Song of The Day: Airglow Fires by Lone

Label:
R & S Records ‎– RS 1310, R & S Records ‎– RS1310
Format:
Vinyl, 12", 45 RPM
Country:
UK
Released:
09 Jul 2013
Genre:
Electronic
Style:
Techno, House

This track turned me on to a whole new world of music back in 2013 when Lone's "Reality Testing" album came out. So lush, so groovy, so new-sounding. Swung out snare hits, just off time enough to notice, meet precise and crystalline synth work, all couched in a cloud of choral and synth pads. Let this one carry you away to a better place.

https://www.discogs.com/Lone-Airglow-Fires/release/4720239

Sort:  

The synths on this are top shelf and I agree with you about those snare hits (and then the "ah" and other vocal sample), adds a lovely swing, lush is an apt way of putting it, very funky groovy track. Really digging the bassline too, has just the right amount of growl to it :) Amazing track, thanks for sharing!

Yussss. I love how it sounds like Masters At Work.

I’m on this atm.

A4556EC4-A806-4E99-952F-8FADFA1953FA.png

I have everything he's ever done on wax, and I have to say that Reality Testing continues to be my favorite. I listen to Begin to Begin and 2 is 8 like seriously every single day of my life.

Did you check out the DJ Kicks mix?

I fucked up and got the vinyl 2XLP instead of the CD on that one, not realizing it is missing almost all the exclusive LONE tracks that the CD has :( I do love the mix tho, especially the inclusion of "When My Anger Starts To Cry"

Oops! was thinking of the Moodymann DJ Kicks. I meant that I really liked the inclusion of that Radiohead "Worrywort" track. "When My Anger Starts To Cry" is on the Moody one.

Ha yeah, they keep the exclusives back for a separate release.

The mix was good, it was like an encapsulation of his career in one mix.

Yeah I bought without researching. :( I don't like CD's anyway hahaha

Ah I can make an exception for a mix, always like to have someone take me away on a journey. I grew up on them though, my gateway.

That's fair. I'm 24. Kind of skipped CD's entirely. Limewire was the first place I got any music I picked out personally. Honestly i never paid for music until I was like 21 and started DJ'ing vinyl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79