PYRO Music Interview - Anti-General

in #electronic5 years ago

PYRO Music InterviewAnti-General Anti-General, electronic music producer / DJ, one of the founders of the Mavericks label. From Chengdu, now living in Shanghai. “Anti-Convention” seeks the most independent production concept, constructing electronic music from an artistic point of view and incorporating the atmosphere he creates.
Influenced by the Mad Decent label culture, he likes to combine exotic culture with electronic music and present the niche world music to the public through new carriers.
PYRO Music Interview Anti-General Anti-General,
one of the co-founders of his own music label – Mavericks,
characterized by his name, is an unorthodox electronic music
producer/DJ from China who concentrates on Trap music. He's always
been searching for the most unique approach of music
Production , constructing every piece of his opuses delicately through the
dimensions of art and ambience. Largely influenced by Mad Decent,
Anti-General also specializes in combining modern electronic music
with the elements of traditional exotic sounds such as Egyptian and
Japanese sounds, translating the virtue Of the minority into the
ears of the contemporary listeners.
PYRO Music Interview Anti-General

a91fb6a2gw1eymp9tqxd8j21kw1kwq66.jpg
PYRO:
How did the name Anti-General come from? Are you really anti-General's music?

Anti:
Unlike most music producers/DJs, I was born into an ordinary family with no musical background. From small to large, I accepted a relatively traditional and conservative educational philosophy. In the world I live in, academic performance, university, and employment seem to be the first topic to be placed first. They must follow the most routine and be as good as possible, and the truth is that everyone around you is also like this. Do, I don't know if they really like this or are forced like me, so I am now "become" a engineering student who studies chemical machinery. After I woke up, I found that General's life was not what I wanted. I am glad that I met music. It gave me a chance to choose a different life, so I chose to take this one. "The road, Anti-General's stage name is like this, it is based on my life, is an attitude, not a certain kind of music. Later, it slowly became my production philosophy: to make things that are individual, unique, and different, to have their own style, to let others like my things because only I can make it. I don't anti-any kind of music, even the big red EDM and even the Chinese pop, everyone likes it, and they all have their value.

PYRO: A
brief introduction to Trap music and your understanding of Trap.

Anti:
Trap This kind of music is really difficult to introduce. It has a long history. If you are interested, you can know it, there are some very detailed introductions. Simply put, it is a product that evolved from the drug trade in Atlanta. The trap in the dead end represents the life of people there, in the form of rap, which is the early Trap culture. Then around 2012, the early rap-style Trap underwent a comprehensive reform under the influence of EDM culture. The main feature was to retain the characteristics of its 808 drum machine sampling and incorporate some electronic elements of EDM. Trap is actually very simple for me. It is a kind of music. To be honest, I am not interested in the culture of Atlanta. I just like the low and dark feeling of Trap. Maybe it has something to do with HipHop, which I have listened to for a long time. .

a91fb6a2gw1eympc66n1gj20mz0mzwgk.jpg

PYRO:
What is your most memorable experience in music creation?

Anti:
In fact, every time I make a stunning piece of my own, it will be like a madman, and I will be alone for a while, haha, it is hard to forget every time.

a91fb6a2gw1eympadwiofj20zk0sfq5z.jpg

PYRO:
How do you generally find inspiration for music creation?

Anti:
I don't usually generate my own melody in my mind. In fact, most of the time I made things are hard to come up with, I think it's at least for me, so I usually open my host software. Start with a synth sound or a novel sample, combined with Beat, let the melody and inspiration stretch in the piano window.

PYRO: A
brief introduction to the creation of a Hyakkiyakou and this song.

Anti:
Speaking of the song Hyakkiyakou (this is probably the most exquisite and richest song I have ever done, and it is also my favorite Japanese style. At first, I wanted to do something that the African cannibal tribe felt. Later, I did half of it. I stumbled upon a tone similar to the Japanese shamisen. I used it and I like it very much. Japanese Bushido
African cannibals = one hundred nights, haha, I thought so. After the big theme was confirmed, I went to find some Japanese zither sounds, as well as the Taiko, which I liked a lot, the screams of some monsters, wolverines, screaming and the like, creating an atmosphere of a hundred ghosts.

PYRO:
What is your favorite artist?

Anti:
There are really a lot of likes, and it's changing, it's hard to choose. If you want to pick one, I think it is Woolymammoth. Listening to his things, you feel that music has no framework, and consciousness is beyond ordinary people. Every time I listen to his new work, I feel shocked:
can it be in the trough? What is the stuff in the mind of this person? I really feel that every capital is a work of art, expressing an idea. Now the 19-year-old from San Francisco is touring Australia.

PYRO: The
most memorable party experience

Anti: It’s
not a big scene. One time Troyboi came to Shanghai and the warm field was Conrank egg fried rice. I am actually a person who can't fly inside, so I usually squeeze in the first two rows, but I went to the night because of a cold. After I went in, I stood behind and watched the fried rice show. For the first time in the back of the Club, the mood of the audience was controlled by the DJ, and the performance of the egg fried rice was also very good. Maybe I was preparing for the GRE at the time. The pressure of learning was quite big. I watched the fried rice and the crowd below. Music, lighting, for a moment, I don’t know why, just want to cry, I really feel that this is a living feeling, the other is fucking, then I stood there for half an hour, finally Troyboi I still didn't hold back and squeezed. But that time, I can still remember clearly that moment.

PYRO: The
future development plan of your own music road.

Anti:
There is only one big direction, but the specific one is still not clear. Next year, I am going to the United States to study for graduate students. I have been preparing for three years. I am currently in the application stage and still work on my old mechanical engineering. Going to the United States to read machinery is definitely not the meaning of drunkenness. For me, this is the only legal way to live in the United States for a few years, feel the different cultural atmosphere, broaden the horizons, and of course the most important, seek opportunities to develop my music. Career, as for what kind of opportunities and developments, I don’t know for myself. The future is like this, people are worried and people are expecting and nervous. I will continue to operate my label Mavericks, in order to explore and promote more unique producers of domestic production ideas, and promote a maverick music idea. The more recent plan is to study the mastering process, learn the new synthesizer, practice DJ, and want to perform in Chengdu and Beijing in the hometown before going abroad. There are many friends there.

a91fb6a2gw1eymp7xv0orj20hs0f7jtm.jpg

PYRO Music Interview Anti-General

Anti-General music has been put on PYRO

Sort:  

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71206.07
ETH 3811.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47