The Day I lost ETN Tokens

in #electroneum7 years ago

It was November 30, 2017 I was doing some ETN transactions...i.e sending some newly purchased ETN coins from Cryptopia over to paper offline wallet...

When...I accidentally provided the wrong payment ID for the target paper wallet primary key.

At the time, I was dealing with multiple paper wallets and yap...that's how that got me to use the wrong payment ID for the target / intended paper wallet.

One wrong piece of information ended up costing 2,200 ETN tokens...and to make matters a little shaky that was $50 USD that my girlfriend who that day I was so heavily promoting the idea / project that is Electroneum...yikes! She was crotcheting at that moment when she looked at me...I saw the pain and even if she said it's okay, I think it was meant to get lost...I was like nah...hold up...I messed up so I'm going to provide you with some insurance.

So I ended up crediting her the lost 2,200 ETN from my stash.

Contacted Cryptopia for help but uh...nothing...so I now believe from my nightmare...I just made Electroneum a little more valueable as in 21 billion max supply less 2,200; and I ebelieve more and more Electroneum community menmber as we all continue to adopt this amazing tech...will run into this issue where more coins will be lost!

What is the lesson learned? Well...I shall always pay close attention to what the heck I'm working on in command CLI & Electroneum Blockchain and even if I am very excited about spreading the word that is the Electroneum project to my girlfriend or all her 100 friends, double check and double check always before clicking submit!

My interest in Next.Exchange...well...since that one boring afternoon when I was on Twitter discovering news of the day...and I saw this add about Next.Exchange, went to YouTube and Crypto For the People a.k.a Sean Davis talked about it as carrying the at the time the yet to be released ETN coin...oh boy, it was on for me! Electroneum being the first major Crypto project of interest easy to understand where they want to go...and all that...and now Next.Exchange saying they'd have ETN support...well...as in investor...the convincing wasn't much at all! I like innovation and I believe Next.Exchange will make access to ETN and a load of other coins more accessible to both newbies and seniors in Crypto!

Sort:  

So sad for the lost of your ETN. Why did you transfer to cryptopia? Are you going to sell it?Thanks for the advice and also for a new website the Next.Exchange. I will look for it and study their website.

This was during the time-frame when the Electroneum Official team was still working on fixing / dealing with the original launch date mishap! But because Miners were trading and the ETN coins were super cheap in Satoshis, had to get some...buy low HODL and sell in 30 years;)

I was transferring from Cryptopia to offline paper wallet; as of right now only Cryptopia trades ETN coins...they are enjoying all the publicity that Electroneum / ETN coins has given them...win...win...you decide!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58296.60
ETH 3064.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26