Dekmantel festival & some Amazing Electro Sounds

in #electroday6 years ago

Wow, what a day it was. Dekmantel festival weekend is unfolding, and today was the day I entered the musical highway with them. An afternoon and evening full of musical highlights.

First excitement I got when the Dekmantel Soundsystem (the founders of the festival) mixed in Talk Talk's "It's my Life"! Such a great track, from maybe my most favourite band from the 80s, maybe of all times. Next excitement was when we discovered this new area, a smallish metal building like the military uses to store whatever they need to store. Jam-packed; Super cool music. Errorsmith (live) pushed damn obscure electro sounds through the speaker system. A few hours later, it was time for The Advent: 90s electro; The reason I was at Dekmantel, and he didn't disappoint me. He actually made me very happy with his live performance: Fast, breakbeat-ish at times, drum&bass-ish at times, this guy from Lisbon knows how to create music.


© DJ Stingray (source)

DJ Stingray was next and closed the evening at this stage. Seen his name already various times at cool location, I never listened to his work. Opening tracks didn't amaze me, techno, while I expected electro. Not bad at all, but still. I left for some drinks and food. But upon return, I got a whole different impression from this guy from the States. Guess the techno tracks at the start of his set was just a distraction since he found his ways into the electro underground. I'll certainly want to listen to more of his work and look forward to a performance at one of my favourite clubs, De School in Amsterdam or .WAS (a popup club) in Utrecht. For now, I share an older podcast DJ Stingray done for Dekmantel. Still need to finish listening the second part of the recording, but so far so good, I like what I hear. Hope you do as well?

PPB

Press Play Below


Artist: DJ Stingray
Set: Dekmantel Podcast 059
Year: 2016
Country: USA

source soundcloud

Artist Music

Spotify Beatport Soundcloud YouTube

Artist Discography

Discogs

Artist Gigs

Resident Advisor


Music Library with more than 200 Entries

blockchain curator and reviewer for @illuminati-inc
you like stories and music? check @qsounds

Sort:  

Saw Stingray in Detroit at El Club last year. One of the best DJ sets I've experienced in so many years. For that crowd to be going that crazy so early in the morning was a beautiful thing to witness, plus the one video I caught of it just happened to be him playing a friend of mine's track. Full support. Thanks for sharing.

I really have to get to Detroit at one point in time to experience the vibes there. Although in NL (some) people really do appreciate good music, the crowd is not going really wild. Maybe still too many people not really into the music, or we simple have too many parties increasing expectations. Fact is many people party several times a month. I was pleased I took the time to listen to his set yesterday.

you guys just motivated me to check DJ Stingray closer and Detroit Electro Mix recorded for mixmag sounds interesting ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51