I married an Alien. Tyger’s Electric Dreams Short Story Contest #14

in #electricdreams5 years ago


Source

This my entry for @tygertyger’s Electric Dreams Short Story Contest #14

No matter how long you live with a person, you will never end up knowing her. They say that the heart of a woman keeps many secrets and my wife was no exception. I began to suspect my wife one night that woke me up emitting strange phrases in a language completely unknown to me. It is not that I am an expert in knowing all the world's languages, but when you listen to sounds of different frequency, you begin to worry. That and some other small details that are added and corroding the confidence.

As anguished as she was during her dream, I imagined she was having a nightmare, I decided to wake her up.

"Anna, honey! Sweetie! Wake up! You're having a nightmare "

She woke up scared and stared at me for a while

"Are you okay?" - I asked

"Yes, don't worry. I guess dinner caused me some indigestion. Go back to sleep, I'll go and have a seltzer in the kitchen. "

I went back to sleep, but something in my mind did not fit and it was that we had only had cereal last night. So I got up and went downstairs to find Anna. To my surprise, she wasn't in the kitchen, but low murmurs diverted my attention. She was in the living room talking again in that strange language.

In a fit of fury, I shouted

"Tell me the truth! Are you having an affair? "

"After 10 years of marriage?"

"It's not what you think," she replied

"Let's see, explain to me why are you talking at 2 o'clock in the morning with someone on the phone and in a strange language"

She, with a reproachful expression, took a deep breath and sighed deeply.

"You'd better sit down," she patted one of the mattresses on the sofa next to her and calmly told me the craziest thing I would ever have imagined:

"I'm not really from this planet and this is not the first time we have this conversation"

I was stunned. Not knowing what part of what she had said was worse: lying to me or how the hell this was not the first time we talked about her mysterious language.

Even in shock, my cynical part took control.

"And now you're going to say: Those are not girl scout cookies, are they?"

"What are you saying? Don't say more nonsense ... ", Rolling her eyes to myself

"They're just cookies, but I'm not ... what you think I am"

Then her appearance changed to a strange reptilian and scaly being

I jumped backward, stumbling over the coffee table and knocking down the lamp in my surprise reaction.

"For the love of God! My mother was right when she told me that women became monsters when they got married. "

Returning to her human form, she replied:

"It's what I like most about you, your honesty, your sincerity, and your sense of humor plus other obvious things," she smiled.

"Well, that gives me relief, because if you have not eaten me in these 10 years, I guess you will not eat me now, right?", I answered hesitantly.

"You know very well that I am a vegetarian"

"Thank God," I was going to make another comment, but she interrupted me again

"This is the third time that happens, generally, you obsess over the fact that I'm from another world and end up telling your friends. And in the long run, I must erase their minds and yours to continue my mission. "

I could not believe what she said

"The first time you saw me in my natural form, I was taking a bath, and you wanted to surprise me by getting yourself into the tub ... You should have seen your face, you jumped out of the window of fright. You fell down naked on the garage and you broke both legs. Fortunately, I was able to repair the damage and erase that experience from your mind"

I listened quietly and astonished to everything she told me.

"I got really scared that day, I thought you broke your neck. I can repair any injury, but I can not revive humans, " she said with a sad expression on her face.

Surely she was referring to when my mother died in that tragic traffic accident.

"It's true, I would have liked to have arrived on time"

"Can you read my mind too !?" I shouted again

"Of course not, silly! We've been together for 10 years, it's obvious that I know you as myself. "

"You are very expressive, you know?" She told me

"The strangest thing of all is that every time you discover me, you take more lightly the fact that I'm from another world. Surely this device must already be failing, " pointing to what I thought was her cell phone.

"Maybe I didn't know you were an alien, but I know you were crying when you were talking through that device a moment ago and something bad is going on," I added.

"What will happen now?" I asked

"You're right, my mission is over," she said, her face darkened.

"I mean, this is the part where you eat me, isn't it?" I said, startled

She rolled her eyes on me again. But then she shook her head

Then a chill ran down my body. Something I didn't feel since my mother had passed away.

"You're going to go, aren't you?" My voice broke as I tried to complete the sentence.

She nodded.

"Our mission was to study human life, live with you, the human being; understand them, maybe help them improve. We do not see races, nor creeds, nor religion. We come from a distant galaxy. "

My mind tried to assimilate all her words

"We are not conquerors, nor come to dominate your world. However, constant world wars, human aberrations, arms development; the fact of the increase in pollution, gives us to understand that you, humans, are not even part of this planet. Humans are the only species that damage their own environment, regardless of the consequences. Greed has contaminated the human soul; the hatred and contempt that exists among all of you are what causes the deaths. This planet is rich in space and resources, which is distributed every day in an unbalanced way."

Her tears began to emanate from her eyes.

"Even though your technology has advanced a lot, it has made you lose your humanity, making everybody apart, isolating you from each other. You all need more kindness, gentleness, and compassion, however, you see this as weakness, generating more hostility and violence."

Her words were harder than rocks and sticks. She was right. Our race is hostile by nature and we are losing our capacity for tolerance.

"But through you, I learned that there is a very great force within all of you. The love in your hearts is the only thing that can save all of you. You are the only ones who can save your own planet and give meaning to your own life. To create a free and beautiful life, full of wonderful adventures. But your apathy and your thoughts are scattered in superficial things. "

I took her hands between mine. Something in me was telling me she was saying goodbye.

"Please don't go. I don't care what planet you are from. You are the best thing that has happened to me in my whole life. You complete me"

"All these years together have made me a better person, I have stopped being a snozberry and you know it. That means we all have hope, right? ", I made her laugh for a second ...

She nodded with her eyes closed for a few seconds. Then, she released my hands slowly and took the cell phone between hers.

"I'll miss you," was the last thing she said before a light blinded me and I lost consciousness.


Anna

After erasing all my existence from his mind and his world. I left him on his bed. Even though all these human years passed represented only a few months for the conception of time to my own, these have been the most fascinating moments ever lived.

Your breed has hope, George. I must return to my planet and defend yours before the intergalactic council, even if that means spending the rest of my life on it. Although by the time I return, 1000 human years will have passed and by then you will have ceased to exist.

You are the best thing that has happened to me too.

She said goodbye with a kiss on his lips before leaving.

Thanks for passing by!



If you want to participate in this contest, go to:

https://steemit.com/electricdreams/@tygertyger/tyger-s-electric-dreams-short-story-contest-14-and-winners-of-13-win-sbd




Keep spreading the Steemit love

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jadams2k18 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 30.57% upvote from @shares courtesy of @jadams2k18! This is a service sponsored by @Yehey. Please consider voting for @Yehey as one of your Witness. Use this short URL link https://on.king.net/witness simply click and vote, this will redirect to steem connect for secure connection.

If you need an extra upvote, join us at https://SteemChat.com discord server. Or simply hang out and meet new friends with common interest.

WANTED SP DELEGATION. Let your Steem Powers (SP) works for you. Delegate SP to receive daily payouts. Choose the amount of your delegation. Start small or go big, it's all up to you.
100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 2000 SP | 3000 SP | 5000 SP | 10000 SP | 20000 SP | 50000 SP | 100000 SP | 500000 SP | 1000000 SP

Have a fun day.
@Shares - Keep Steeming for a better future.

this post has been selected to be featured in the upcoming teamgood newsletter
cheers :)

Please forgive that I missed this when you originally posted this <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63578.68
ETH 3314.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94