STEEM Mobile Update: The Hot Water Machine Arrived! Now I Can Take Hot Showers Anywhere.

in #electric7 years ago (edited)

What is that sexy beast, you might ask? I don't know what you mean, I'm not in the photo. That sizable chunk of machinery dead center is a water heater which includes a rechargeable battery powered pump. Basically I stick one hose into a water container, then the other goes to a shower head.

There's also a secondary heating loop that brings the water up from a temperature comfortable for showering, all the way to boiling. It comes out of this little spout in the side, so you can prepare dehydrated camping foods easily. I still have my pocket stove for boiling water in a pinch, but boy is this more convenient.

There's the regulator, what the propane canister screws into. You can also see the various power inputs and outputs. One outputs 12v DC to the submersible pump that draws water up into this thing. The other two are inputs for 12v DC car power, and 110v AC wall outlet power, respectively. It can use either.

What's this little plastic door in the side of the trunk? What could be in there? This car has all sorts of weird little secret compartments for some reason. I guess just because it would otherwise be wasted space.

Oh look, a propane cylinder of the exact type that fits the regulator! What an amazing coincidence. Truly a Yuletide miracle from Kramdar, or else it was left by the propane fairy. If you'll recall this little cubby is where I used to store my pocket stove, folding pot and isopro canisters. Those go inside the tupperware camping supplies container now.

There it is screwed into the regulator. Just like my car, this thing needs both fuel and electricity. It's hooked up to the 12v DC socket between the rear seats so the charge will be topped up whenever I drive anywhere.

There's another little hidden cubby on the opposite side of the trunk btw, so I've got another propane canister stashed in there. You can see the hoses for drawing and dispensing water in the upper left.

Here's the instrument panel, powered on. Not much of a battery indicator, with only three bars. Still it's big, bright and colorful. Very easy to read. If the instruction booklet can be believed, all you need to do in order to get hot water is turn the unit on (with a propane canister installed), stick the pump end into some water, turn the dial up a bit to light the burner, then press the pump on/off button to start the pump.

I'll be showing off this process in a later article where I test the unit out, to make sure everything's in good working order. If not, I can take it someplace to get serviced, and I wound up spending $250 for it instead of the $350 I expected. There was an automatic discount coupon for the holidays, plus a series of recent price cuts working in my favor.

That's all for this time! Look forward to the next installment when I put this bad boy through its paces!


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

STEEM Mobile is gonna be super useful when you're the last man standing after the cryptopocalypse. I can see it being towed behind the much larger STEEM RV someday soon though, at this rate.

@alexbeyman,
Oh dude WTF you are doing! Now you almost made a kind of caravan by using your Elec Car :D This is absolutely a brilliant idea! Actually I had no idea about this before! Excellent work done!

Cheers~

Alex - Technology behind the unit you explained very well... Can't you use a solar to power this up? Nice gadget you installed to the car with a pretty good discount...

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

That's so cool. You can take shower anywhere with hot water everywhere. I don't know how do you come up with the ideas of buying these kinda stuffs. You are really smart. Now no fear of cold to take shower.

Wow this type of book makes you expectant of many technologicalized to be expectant somewhere in the discovery awesome write buddy

You bring the kitchen into the car .. When it becomes part of the car, how hard it is to eliminate the habit. but because you are in a cold area, then this is quite helpful.
But in my country, this tool is not necessary, because the tropics.
The area is hot.

Hopefully that tool can help you in winter.

Steem mobile! That's nice. Yeah, you can now definitely take bath wherever you want to. Nice water heater. It will be so much useful while hiking and camping. Good one.

Now you just need a baby pool under your computer chair to be able to play VR and shower without leaving your 24 hour marathon session!

Awesome buy though, I'd never heard of something like this, but it could be a life safer in the real world if you ever get stranded.

Since the water could boil, can it serve for emergency water filtration as well?

The instruction manual says not to do that. It gets hot but maybe not quite boiling after all? Idk. My pocket stove can take care of that however, along with my Sawyer Mini water filter.

Ohh ! great.
You always think different from others.you have got some unique thinking quality.i haven't think about to get a hot water machine.
I can say, you don't need a house to live. you will plan something for living in any type of place because of your great idea's.

Man this is cool. When you planning the next camping trip! Unique piece of machine right there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63064.62
ETH 2460.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66