STEEM Mobile Update: Cushions Arrived!

in #electric6 years ago

Figured I'd start with the money shot. This is what I paid more than I care to admit for. Now the entire rear area of my car transforms into a twin bed (that might be a little generous but it will sleep two people in relative comfort).

Now I don't need an RV to tour the country in style. Now I can camp all year round and not have to go to bed or wake up cold. Heat also isn't a problem as when I'm plugged into the campground's 240v I can run air conditioning all night.

Is that even really camping anymore? No, it isn't. But it is a cost and space efficient way to make my daily driver double as a mobile residence so I can go and enjoy the plentiful gorgeous sites of interest in this great state without compromising on comfort (much).

Here it is packed away. I guess all the other stuff just gets stacked on top of it? The guy who custom made these cushions for me also makes rigid "shelves" that span the trunk area. That could possibly be rigged up with hard attachment points for big heavy items like the hot water machine so they don't shift around while I'm driving.

Step one is to pop the rear seat cushions off. To my surprise it's very easy indeed, and just as easy to pop them back into place. I didn't think about the years of accumulated doritos dust and stale french fry crumbs I'd find under these babies on account of it being a used car though, blech.

What the spots underneath them looked like after a good, thorough vacuuming. I didn't want to subject your poor tender eyeballs to that atrocity. You can really see in the blocky front area of each seat where the side portions of the T-shaped battery pack go.

Here it is with a pillow and one of the two electric blankets. It does need two, because although the blankets are long enough for the available space, they aren't wide enough. I also don't want to be fighting over a blanket with a certain someone in a confined space already liable to make us a bit cranky.

Anyways, there you have it. Next up, I have to figure out a mounting solution for all the stuff that was in the trunk before this. I don't want it to just sit on top of the cushions. I also need to get the adapter kit for my 240v charging cable. More on that in the future.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Looks like my predictions about STEEM RV might be a little off track.
Being able to sleep comfortably in your car is the dream, especially one packed full of as much shit as STEEM mobile.
Enjoy!

Maybe you can rent it out as a mobile AirB&B!

Totally sick man. Can't wait to see that baby on highway 66.

@alexbeyman you are so electric, lol !
You have almost everything connected to the electricity. Blanket,shoe,jacket and many more. Many of them are, i am not even aware about their presence. You always make me learn something new. You are a electric man.

Cozy indeed!

Let us know if you find a TARDIS upgrade to make it bigger on the inside. Or travel through what we perceive as time. Not sure what other upgrade possibilities remain other than the obligatory oil slick / tire shredder 007-style optional extras.

Oh dear God, does it have an ejection seat?! If anyone would have a vehicle with an ejection seat in the real world, its you.

Either of the front seats can be an ejection seat if you brake abruptly enough.

I also don't want to be fighting over a blanket with a certain someone in a confined space already liable to make us a bit cranky.

Wouldn't that be a problem. :)

I am sure things like there will make a cool adventure even more cool. Because now it would be comfy-cool.

Looks pretty comfy, dude. Wish I could get a set up like that for when we have to draw across the country to visit family and shit. Hope you have an easy time coming up with a mounting solution for the rest of your gear back there, bruh.

Looks quite comfy! Too bad it's no longer camping like this, haha.

Okay, now I remember - it's your half electronic supercar! (If I've made a mistake again, my bad).
How convenient, you can sleep there too. A bit more improvements and it will fly :d

Although I can't imagine it being much fun to transfer all your day-time storage to the front for bedtime, this is a super cool modification. Like you said it seems like you really got the best of both worlds though, would definitely consider something like this as an alternative to the traditional RV/Van camper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58