STEEM Cycle Update: Animal Rescue Pod

in #electric7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes when I'm out riding, I will come upon an injured animal. What do you do in that situation? If you're like me, you aren't carrying any sanitary gloves, or a container to transport the animal in.

I've solved that problem today by the addition of a soft shell, rear seatpost mounted animal enclosure. It provides someplace safe, warm and dry to transport a small wounded animal pending a trip to the Audubon Society (where I took the bat).

As you can see, there's a supply of rubber gloves stashed in the mesh netting portion so I can pick up the animal without exposing myself to any contagions it may be carrying. I will probably include some thicker gloves too for animals with sharp teeth. Nothing prevents wearing one under the other.

I am unsure what to use for padding. I don't want to just use toilet paper but it has to be something that is cheap to replace, because I cannot safely reuse the same padding over and over without risking transferring pathogens from one animal to the next.

The other problem so far is that the rear swing arm the back wheel mounts to comes up far enough that the wheel chafes the bottom of the carrier. I can solve this by adjusting the swing arm but it will take a bit of disassembly to get at the necessary bolts. That's a project for a warmer, dryer day I think.

Sort:  

For padding, maybe disposable baby diapers, or some puppy pee pads. they should provide enough padding folded up in your little litter carrier.

Damn, good idea. Cheap, intended to be soiled and thrown away, and plush.

We have chihuahua's. They are indoor pets, have never had a flea on them in their entire life. ot tick.

Really good idea man, i hope every people think as you about help street animals that need something. Regards sir

This makes me happy. I usually keep walnuts in the pocket of my coat in case I run across any squirrels, but this is on a whole other level. Awesome. :-)

It's shows that you are kind hearted man.

@alexbeyman,
It's an interesting development and a respectful work! But I got a problem! Is there any kind of air holes for animal? I didn't see it, that's why I am asking! Anyway this is a great invention and respect the way you think!

Cheers~

I plan to drill some, but honestly for such quick emergency trips there would be no time for CO2 to build up in there given the size of the animals in question. Still, better safe than sorry.

@alexbeyman,
Got it friend! Nice items you are adding to the bike!

Cheers~

it is a great addition @alexbeyman, helping injured animals is a great thing and I really appreciate your attitude my friend.
Keep it up
Cheers!

The animals that I usually see on the road are already dead, deer, raccoon, squirrels, possum, skunks. BTW, how fast can your rig go on the flats with no wind?

28mph

This thing just improves and becomes more awesome as time goes on. Now not only is it self-propelled and advertising Steemit, you can rescue small animals!

interesting one...upvoted already! you should do a video about that and share it with you ;) (if you find some injured animals)

You have enjoyed not only smart brain but also a very special and good heart and soul. Please keep the good job up, the world needs your type of people. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50