You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ignorance of the African Diaspora in America

in #elections8 years ago

All good points mate! I'll keep an eye on your posts too. Hey I have a question, how do you feel about being called Person Of Colour? I personally don't like the term or people referring to me as that, just call me what I am you know, I am not that easily offended.

For example what if you were to call a fat person, a Person Of Size, I would think they would be offended. To me if your black be black, if your brown be brown. What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

To be honest, the term was born out the disenfranchisement of many people groups throughout the western world. While I lived in the West, it was a label that I bore, but now that I live free...it is kind of a silly notion lol. If we really break it down, everyone is a person of color in this plane of existence. To me the greater truth is that all these names...are just labels we give ourselves...some out of anger, resentment, confusion, bitterness...others out of what we call "nobility" but all are just labels...pointers at a reference so that the mind can understand.

I don't get offended if someone calls me a person of color...but I do not get called that any more lol. Everyone knows what I am outside the West and it is kind of silly to point out the obvious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42