Election Day Blues

in #electionday5 years ago

voteday.jpg
Usually, I am so gung ho about Election Day. I believe that voting is the best way for the people to have a say. Some people believe that I throw away my vote because many times I am backing an independent candidate. I say, however, that I can sleep at night because I don't believe in the "best of 2 evils" philosophy. I believe that it is time for the voters to start thinking outside the box. Now, that doesn't mean I never vote for a Democrat or Republican. If someone really impresses me, they have my vote. I usually do extensive research before I make my decision.

So, I receive this year's sample ballot and it hasn't really inspired me to vote in my township, which is Lacey in New Jersey. First off, the election is for General Assembly, Sheriff, Board Of Chosen Freeholders, Township Committee and Board Of Education posts. Now granted, I am still fairly new to Lacey Township. While not knowing anything about any of the candidates, except for the visual pollution spread across lawns and the postcards that line most people's birdcages, I have been trying to get info online to help me decide.

The only independent candidate listed on the ballot is Daniel Valentine of the Libertarian Party running for a Board Of Chosen Freeholders seat. The two year Board Of Education candidate is not even running against anyone. That Write-In section does offer a chance for some crazy candidates to be introduced into a boring voting year.

Now, I am sure that some of these candidates are very qualified to hold their position in high esteem. Maybe when Halloween was postponed from the 31st of October to November 1st, the candidates could have went door to door introducing themselves giving voters a better perspective on who they are voting for. Also, they could inform us as to how these candidates can help the voters by getting elected. I don't know anything except that I am confused. Hopefully, I will have choices before the day is over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.01
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66